Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Software Available for Remote Access to CUNY Faculty and Students

The following is a list of CUNY-wide site licensed software. Hunter College may also have additional site licenses that are not listed here.

Contact Hunter College's site license coordinators, Noeli Rosario-Sanchez and Stephen Sukhra, for more information or to obtain a product listed below:

Software and Vendor

Adobe Creative Cloud and Document Cloudis a collection of graphic design, video editing, and web development applications made by Adobe Systems for professional print, web design and web development.

ArcGIS is a geographic information system (GIS) for working with maps and geographic information. It is used for creating and using maps, compiling geographic data, analyzing mapped information, sharing and discovering geographic information, using maps and geographic information in a range of applications, and managing geographic information in a database.

Cambridge Soft ChemBioOffice Ultra 2010 Suite is a chemistry and biology suite offering ChemBioOffice 2010 as well as a collection of databases: 1-year subscriptions to ChemINDEX (Index, RXN, NCI & AIDS), ChemACX and ePub.

CATS (CUNY Assistive Technology Services) has a license that permits the University to install on all computers the following assistive software: Open Book9, WYNN 7, ZoomText Fusion 2018, ZoomText 2018, JAWS 2018, and Kurzweil 3000. For more information about the CATS Lab package and other AT, visit cats.cuny.edu

Maplesoft is technical computing software for engineers, mathematicians, and scientists to help do quick calculations, develop design sheets, teach fundamental concepts, or produce sophisticated high-fidelity simulation models.

MathWorks produces mathematical computing software for engineers, scientists, mathematicians, and researchers. MATLAB is a programming environment for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization, and numeric computation. Simulink is a block diagram environment integrated with MATLAB which enables users to move from concept to code by creating models from MATLAB algorithms and exporting simulation for further analysis.

McAfee Endpoint Security provides comprehensive protection against common threats and malware for Microsoft Windows and Apple MacOS computers.

Microsoft Enterprise CAL Suite offers 11 products, including Windows Server 2008 CAL, Exchange Server Enterprise CAL, Office SharePoint Server 2007 CAL, Microsoft Office Communications Server 2007 Enterprise CAL, Windows Rights Management Services and Forefront Security Suite. These products are available to faculty and staff on university-owned equipment only. Microsoft Office 365 for Education Microsoft Office 365 for Education, including Outlook, Microsoft Office, and Office ProPlus, are also available for free to students, faculty and staff using your CUNY Login credentials.

Microsoft Teams is available to all active CUNY faculty and staff through CUNY's Office 365 for Education license. Teams is a collaboration and communication platform that provides features such as chat, voice and video conferencing, file storage and file collaboration. It integrates closely with Microsoft’s Office 365 suite of applications and can be useful for collaborating and meeting remotely. To download the Teams application, follow the the link at the start of this paragraph. After installing, open the Teams application and sign in with your @login.cuny.edu credentials.

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that helps researchers and students gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

SAS Education Analytical Suite integrates more than 20 SAS products in a bundle exclusively available for educational professionals who want superior analytic tools.

Wolfram Mathematica provides automation in algorithmic computation, interactive manipulation, and dynamic presentation, and is especially useful in the fields of engineering, mathematics, finance, physics, chemistry, and biology.

Please click here for more information on where the above listed software can be used.