Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Textbooks

Classic Concepts in Anthropology

Valerio Valeri:
Classic Concepts in Anthropology

From the Abstract:
"The late anthropologist Valerio Valeri (1944–98) was best known for his substantial writings on societies of Polynesia and eastern Indonesia. This volume, however, presents a lesser-known side of Valeri’s genius through a dazzlingly erudite set of comparative essays on core topics in the history of anthropological theory. Offering masterly discussions of anthropological thought about ritual, fetishism, cosmogonic myth, belief, caste, kingship, mourning, play, feasting, ceremony, and cultural relativism, Classic Concepts in Anthropology, presented here with a critical foreword by Rupert Stasch and Giovanni da Col, will be an eye-opening, essential resource for students and researchers not only in anthropology but throughout the humanities."
The History of Our Tribe: Hominini

Open SUNY Textbooks:
The History of Our Tribe: Hominini

From the Abstract:
"Where did we come from? What were our ancestors like? Why do we differ from other animals? How do scientists trace and construct our evolutionary history? The History of Our Tribe: Hominini provides answers to these questions and more. The book explores the field of paleoanthropology past and present. Beginning over 65 million years ago, Welker traces the evolution of our species, the environments and selective forces that shaped our ancestors, their physical and cultural adaptations, and the people and places involved with their discovery and study. It is designed as a textbook for a course on Human Evolution but can also serve as an introductory text for relevant sections of courses in Biological or General Anthropology or general interest. It is both a comprehensive technical reference for relevant terms, theories, methods, and species and an overview of the people, places, and discoveries that have imbued paleoanthropology with such fascination, romance, and mystery."
 
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology

Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology

From the Abstract:
"We are delighted to bring to you this novel textbook, a collection of chapters on the essential topics in cultural anthropology. Different from other introductory textbooks, this book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. Each author has written from their experiences working as an anthropologist and that personal touch makes for an accessible introduction to cultural anthropology.

Our approach to cultural anthropology is holistic. We see the interconnectedness of cultural practices and, in all of the chapters, we emphasize the comparison of cultures and the ways of life of different peoples. "

Peer Reviews

Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology

Comparative Archaeologies: A Sociological View of the Science of the Past

From the Abstract:
"This comprehensive book explores regional archaeologies from a sociological perspective—to identify and explain regional differences in archaeological practice, as well as their existing similarities. This work covers not only the currently-dominant Anglo-American archaeological paradigm, but also Latin America, Western and Eastern Europe, Asia, and Africa, all of which have developed their own unique archaeological traditions. The contributions in this work cover these "alternative archaeologies," in the context of their own geographical, political, and socio-economic settings, as well as the context of the currently accepted mainstream approaches."
 
Applied Evolutionary Anthropology

Applied Evolutionary Anthropology

From the Introduction:
"This book is the first major review of the emerging field of Applied Evolutionary Anthropology bringing together the work of an international group of evolutionary scientists, addressing many of the major public health and social issues of this century. Through a series of case studies that span both rural and urban situations in Africa, Asia, Europe and South America, each chapter addresses topics such as natural resource management, health service delivery, population growth and the emergence of new family structures, dietary, and co-operative behaviors. The research presented identifies the great, largely untapped, potential that Applied Evolutionary Anthropology holds to guide the design, implementation and evaluation of effective social and public health policy. This book will be of interest to policy-makers and applied researchers, along with academics and students across the biological and social sciences."
Creativity/Anthropology

Cornell University Press:
Creativity/
Anthropology

From the Abstract:
"Creativity and play erupt in the most solemn of everyday worlds as individuals reshape traditional forms in the light of changing historical circumstances. In this lively volume, fourteen distinguished anthropologists explore the life of creativity in social life across the globe and within the study of ethnography itself. Contributors include Barbara A. Babcock, Edward M. Bruner, James W. Fernandez, Don Handelman, Smadar Lavie, José E. Limon, Barbara Myerhoff, Kirin Narayan, Renato Rosaldo, Richard Schechner, Edward L. Schieffelin, Marjorie Shostak, Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing, and Edith Turner."

Biological Anthropology: Laboratory Activities

From the Lab Manual:
"Please note: These activities are meant to be used in connection with a full Biological Anthropology Course and full textbook. The instructor is expected to present the base material that students will need to complete each activity. This allows the instructor to mold the activities to their own approach. Students will need an assigned text to assist with these activities, identify bone and features, understand the proper use of Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium, significance of primate taxonomy, and specific information about various early human forms. These activities are presented in the sequence they might be used if teaching with Introduction to Physical Anthropology by Robert Jurmain et al.1 These activities do not need to be used in the order presented and are meant to allow an instructor to have lab activities for students that do not require the students to purchase a separate lab
manual. "

The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology

From the Description:
"The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world."

Open SUNY Textbooks:
Native Peoples of North America

From the Description:
"Native Peoples of North America is intended to be an introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. As such, the text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. Each chapter begins with an example from the oral tradition that reflects the theme of the chapter. The text includes suggested readings, videos, and classroom activities."

Handbook of Paleoanthropology

From the Introduction:
"This extensive, three-volume handbook, intensively updated and enlarged, is a superb new resource for students, researchers, and practitioners in paleoanthropology. A baseline storehouse covering the full extent of current knowledge, the volume features an online e-reference work that will be updated with future developments in this fascinating discipline. Often cited as the most multidisciplinary of all the sciences, paleoanthropology encompasses a vast range of techniques drawn from geology, evolutionary biology, and archaeology, among many others.
Guided by an editorial team of global stature, the contributions reflect the best of today’s scholarship. Each volume covers core constituents of the subject: basic principles and methods, primate evolution and human origins, and the phylogeny of hominins. The editors have ensured that the entries uphold a key principle of paleoanthropology, requiring historical assessments to be updated with developing knowledge of the living world."

A History of Anthropology 2e

From the Introduction:
"This is a thoroughly updated and revised edition of a popular classic of modern anthropology. Avoiding geographical bias, the authors provide summaries of ‘Enlightenment’, ‘Romantic’ and ‘Victorian’ anthropology, from the cultural theories of Morgan and Taylor to the often neglected contributions of German scholars. The ambiguous relationship between anthropology and national cultures is also considered, and the growth of distinctive national styles in anthropological research is highlighted. A History of Anthropology is an unparalleled account of theoretical developments in anthropology from the 1920s to the present, including functionalism, structuralism, hermeneutics, neo-Marxism and discourse analysis. Major anthropologists are provided with brief biographies and key debates are covered such as those concerning totemism, kinship and globalisation. This essential text on anthropology is highly engaging, authoritative and suitable for students at all levels."

Writing Anthropology: A Call for Uninhibited Methods

From the Introduction:
"A call for new methods for anthropology, this book explores the nature of anthropological knowledge and the conditions of integration and communication with people. Starting with an analysis of anthropologists' guilt, Fan addresses issues of reflexivity, reciprocity, and respect, then builds on this to evaluate how researchers generate knowledge."

Collections

Simon Fraser University Archaeology Press

Simon Fraser University
Archaeology Press

From the About Page:
"SFU Archaeology Press has been an indispensable part of Canadian archaeology and Northwest Coast studies for 45 years. Since 1972, the Press has published 21 monographs and 15 edited volumes.
SFU Archaeology Press also supports Inlet: Contributions to Archaeology, an online open access journal publishing articles related to the fields of archaeology, bioanthropology, and heritage. Inlet welcomes articles that communicate findings, reflect on new directions in the field, and disseminate information that may not fit under the purview of traditional publication venues. Articles are peer reviewed and published as soon as they are
ready. "

Courseware

CUNY CityTech OpenLab | ANTH 1101: Introduction to Anthropology

CUNY CityTech OpenLab | ANTH 1101: Introduction to Anthropology

ANTH 1101: Introduction to Anthropology "is a general introduction to the four fields of anthropology that looks at how anthropologists study cultural and physical aspects of humankind. We will explore a range of societies and methods anthropologists study. This course covers such topics as economic systems, population dynamics, kinship, political systems, religion, art, medicine, as well as globalization, power relations and ethics. This course covers cross-cultural ethnographic data including Africa, Meso-America, Australia, and Asia."

Anthropology | MIT Open CourseWare

Anthropology | MIT Open CourseWare

Anthropology | MIT Open CourseWare makes available course packages for both undergraduate and graduate study created by MIT Anthropology Department faculty, including:

Anthropology | LibreTexts Library

Anthropology | LibreTexts Library

LibreTexts is "a is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books."

LibreText Library is funded and produced by the University of California, Davis, the U.S. Department of Education, Merlot, and the National Science Foundation.

LibreText Anthropology resources include:

Palomar College | Anthropology Tutorials

Palomar College | Anthropology Tutorials

Created and maintained by Dr. Dennis O'Neil, professor in the Behavioral Sciences Department at Palomar College, this anthropology tutorial site features specific modules for both Biological Anthropology and Cultural Anthropology

Each module contains:

Check out the Anthropology Tutorials' reviews and accolades here.

Journals

Cultural Anthropology

Cultural Anthropology

From the About Page:
"Cultural Anthropology is the peer-reviewed journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. Established in 1986, the journal publishes four issues per year and is widely abstracted and indexed.
Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It also welcomes essays concerned with theoretical issues, with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests."
Human Ecology: An Interdisciplinary Journal

Human Ecology:
An Interdisciplinary Journal

From the Description:
"Human Ecology: An Interdisciplinary Journal publishes papers probing the complex and varied systems of interaction between people and their environment.
Contributions examine the roles of social, cultural, and psychological factors in the maintenance or disruption of ecosystems and investigate the effects of population density on health, social organization, and environmental quality.
Articles also address adaptive problems in urban environments and the interrelationship between technological and environmental changes"
 
Human Nature: An Interdisciplinary Biosocial Perspective

Human Nature:
An Interdisciplinary Biosocial Perspective

From the Description:
"Human Nature is dedicated to advancing the interdisciplinary investigation of the biological, social, and environmental factors that underlie human behavior.
It focuses primarily on the functional unity in which these factors are continuously and mutually interactive. These include the evolutionary, biological, and sociological processes as they interact with human social behavior; the biological and demographic consequences of human history; the cross-cultural, cross-species, and historical perspectives on human behavior; and the relevance of a biosocial perspective to scientific, social, and policy issues."
Inlet: Contributions to Archeology

Inlet: Contributions to Archeology

From the About Page:
"Inlet: Contributions to Archaeology is a new open-access journal under the Archaeology Press banner. Inlet publishes articles from the fields of archaeology, bioanthropology, and heritage. Inlet welcomes short contributions that communicate findings, reflect on new directions in the field, and disseminate information that may not fit under the purview of traditional publication venues. Its online publication format supports large amounts of multimedia supplementary information (images, data tables, video, large maps etc.). Inlet emphasizes short and accessible articles of roughly 1,500–3,000 words, including thoughtful and concise discussions of archaeological sites, features, or case studies/technical memos, preliminary reviews, data pulled from grey literature, and research on legacy collections. We expressly invite submissions from members of the archaeological and heritage consulting community who wish to present the results of their projects in a concise, accessible format.
All articles are peer-reviewed and become freely available online as they are ready."
 
International Journal of Anthropology and Ethnology

International Journal of Anthropology and Ethnology

From the Description:
"International Journal of Anthropology and Ethnology is an open access, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal. It considers articles in the fields of Anthropology and Ethnology, concerning theory, policy and practice. It welcomes original research papers, conference summaries, academic interviews, academic debates, research synthesis, fieldwork reports and book reviews. It aims to introduce achievements representing the highest level of anthropological and ethnological studies around the world (not only in China or Asia); promote academic exchanges between western and non-western circles; facilitate dialogues and interactions about the global or regional hot topics; build a platform for communications within the international research communities of anthropology and ethnology."
 

Media: Podcasts, Videos, Interactives

Oxford University Anthropology Podcast

Oxford University
Anthropology Podcast

From the Description:
"Podcasts from the School of Anthropology and Museum Ethnography. The School is renowned for its contributions to anthropological theory, its commitment to long-term ethnographic fieldwork, and its association with the Pitt Rivers Museum and the anthropology of visual and material culture. Home to over forty academic staff, over a hundred doctoral students, twelve Master’s programmes, and two undergraduate degrees (Human Sciences; Archaeology and Anthropology), Oxford anthropology is one of the world’s largest and most vibrant centres for teaching and research in the discipline."
Oxford University Living in the Stone Age

Oxford University
Living in the Stone Age

From the Description:
"In this series of 11 short films Experimental Archaeologists, Oxford University Lecturers and Bushcraft specialists demonstrate a range of Stone Age crafts, skills and technologies as well as art and music. Each 5 minute film can be used in the classroom to focus on a particular technology. "
LibreTexts Interactive Fossils

LibreTexts
Interactive Fossils

Includes interactive visualizations for:
  • Homo erectus
  • Homo habilis
  • Homo habilis II
  • Homo rudolfensis
  • Homo sapien
  • Paranthropus aethiopicus
  • Paranthropus boisei