Textbooks
The Economy
From the Note to Instructors:"The text focuses throughout on evidence on the economy, from around the world, and from history. It is motivated by questions—how can we explain what we see? The method is to ask interesting questions first and then to introduce models that help to answer them. Standard tools such as constrained optimization are taught by showing how they give insight into real-world problems. Economics as a discipline is set in a social, political, and ethical context in which institutions matter.
CORE teaches students to be economists:
Start with a question, and look at the evidence.
Build a model that helps you understand what you see.
Critically evaluate the model: does it provide insight into the question, and explain the evidence?"
Principles of Economics
From the Abstract:"This book is intended for a two-semester course in Economics taught out of the social sciences or business school. Principles of Economics aims to teach considerable range and depth of Economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept."
Principles of Microeconomics: Scarcity and Social Provisioning
From the Abstract:"Principles of Economics covers scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory economics course. The authors take a balanced approach to micro- and macroeconomics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and to the theory and application of economics concepts. The text also includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way."
Principles of Economics 2e
From the Abstract:"Principles of Economics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters."
Macroeconomics: Theory through Applications
From the Abstract:"The intended audience of the textbook is first-year undergraduates taking courses on the principles of macroeconomics and microeconomics. Many may never take another economics course. We aim to increase their economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know. We have written a fundamentally different text for principles of economics, based on two premises: Students are motivated to study economics if they see that it relates to their own lives, and students learn best from an inductive approach, in which they are first confronted with a question and then led through the process of how to answer that question."
Courseware
Economics | MIT Open CourseWare
Economics | MIT Open CourseWare makes available course packages for both undergraduate and graduate study created by MIT Anthropology Department faculty, including:
Economics | QuantEcon Lectures
" QuantEcon hosts lecture series on economics, finance, econometrics and data science. All lecture series are based on open source languages and open computing environments. These lectures have benefited extensively from the input of many contributors and the financial support of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation."
- Quantitative Economics with Python
- Quantitative Economics with Julia
- QuantEcon DataScience
This website presents a set of lectures on quantitative economic modeling, designed and written by Thomas J. Sargent and John Stachurski. The language instruction is Python.
This website presents a set of lectures on quantitative economic modeling, designed and written by Jesse Perla, Thomas J. Sargent and John Stachurski. The language instruction is Julia.
Introduction to Economic Modeling and Data Science.
Economics | MRU Teaching Resources
MRU was founded in 2012 by George Mason University economics professors Tyler Cowen and Alex Tabarrok, Marginal Revolution University is building the world’s largest online library of free economics education videos—currently weighing in at more than 800 videos.
Since 2003, Tyler and Alex have co-authored a popular economics blog called Marginal Revolution. What is the “marginal revolution” exactly? The term refers to an exciting time in the history of economics when several leading nineteenth century thinkers (Walras, Menger, and Jevons) formalized what is now known as marginalism theory. In other words, thinking on the margin, which is something you too will master as you dive into MRU videos. We also like the idea that revolutions are made one idea and one person at a time. Tyler and Alex are also authors of the widely used principles of economics textbooks, Modern Principles of Microeconomics and Modern Principles of Macroeconomics.
- Principles of Microeconomics
- Principles of Macroeconomics
- Mastering Econometrics
- Development Economics
- Money Skills
MRU also includes Games and Activities, Lesson Plans, and Test Banks.
Economics | Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.
The Department of Economics at Yale offers a wide spectrum of courses for both specialists and non-specialists alike. For undergraduate majors, a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics is required. Advanced courses offer training in economic history, finance, theory, international and developmental economics, market organization, human resources, and the public sector. The graduate program covers a broad range of research interests and diverse methodologies.
Journals
Agricultural and Food Economics
From Description:"Agricultural and Food Economics is an international peer-reviewed open access journal published on behalf of the Italian Society of Agricultural Economics. The editors seek high-quality, problem-oriented submissions on agriculture & food from diverse socioeconomic perspectives & from all over the world. The journal publishes original research & review articles with innovative results & relevant policy & managerial implications, based on quantitative, qualitative, & mixed methodologies. Topics of interest: sustainable food systems, food & nutrition security, agricultural & food policy, environmental impacts of agricultural & food activities, market analysis, agrifood firm management & marketing, organization of agrifood value chains, behavioral economics, food quality & safety issues, food & health economics, trade, sustainable rural development, natural & marine resource economics, & land economics."
Swiss Journal of Economics and Statistics
From the Description:"Swiss Journal of Economics and Statistics is blind peer-reviewed open access journal published under the brand SpringerOpen. SJES publishes theoretical and empirical contributions to any field of economics. The journal was founded in 1867 and is owned and financed by the Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics.
Owned and financed by the Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics, SJES is committed to a high quality, efficient review process with a first round response time of typically less than two months. "
Media: Podcasts, Videos, Interactives, Software, Games
QuantEcon
Workshops and Seminars
From the Description:"Podcasts from the School of Anthropology and Museum Ethnography. The School is renowned for its contributions to anthropological theory, its commitment to long-term ethnographic fieldwork, and its association with the Pitt Rivers Museum and the anthropology of visual and material culture. Home to over forty academic staff, over a hundred doctoral students, twelve Master’s programmes, and two undergraduate degrees (Human Sciences; Archaeology and Anthropology), Oxford anthropology is one of the world’s largest and most vibrant centres for teaching and research in the discipline."
Economics-games
Classroom Games for Teaching Economics
From the Description:"Economics-games.com is a free educational games site for teaching microeconomics, industrial organization and game theory.
Choose the game you want to run, enter the number of players and that's it: You just have to communicate their logins to your students and have them connect to the site with their phones, tablets or laptops. You can then observe and debrief the game through your interface."
GeoGebra
Free Math Apps
From the About page:"GeoGebra is dynamic mathematics software for all levels of education that brings together geometry, algebra, spreadsheets, graphing, statistics and calculus in one easy-to-use package. GeoGebra is a rapidly expanding community of millions of users located in just about every country. GeoGebra has become the leading provider of dynamic mathematics software, supporting science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and innovations in teaching and learning worldwide."
World Bank
Open Data
From the About page:"At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Working closely with the Bank’s regions and Global Practices, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced."
Wall Street Mojo Basic Accounting
From the About page:"In this article, we learn basic accounting concepts through stories/case studies. It is for those who are new or are struggling with these basic concepts. I bet you will learn the core fundamentals of basic accounting in just 1 hour and without the usage of debits & credits!"