Textbooks
Chem 101:
Chemistry Textbook Package
Includes:- Access to OpenStax Chemistry and Chemistry: Atoms First Textbooks
- Smartphone and Tablet App for: real time polls, interactive modules, creation of Lewis Structures, Dimensional Analysis, and Electron Configurations, among others
- Instructor Support
- Homework and In-App Grading
- $25 per Student, per Semester for Full Access
OpenStax
Chemistry
From the Summary:"Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning."
Includes: Instructor and Student Resources
Peer Reviews
OpenStax
Chemistry:
Atoms First
From the Summary:"Chemistry: Atoms First is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association. This title is an adaptation of the OpenStax Chemistry text and covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Reordered to fit an atoms first approach, this title introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach...so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry. "
Includes: Instructor and Student Resources
Peer Reviews
LibreTexts
Principles of Modern Chemistry
From the Abstract:"A General Chemistry Libretexts Textmap organized around the textbook Principles of Modern Chemistry by Oxtoby, Gillis, and Campion"
Basic Physical Chemistry:
A Complete Introduction on Bachelor of Science Level
From the Abstract:"Based on the principles of physics and mathematics to obtain quantitative relations, Physical Chemistry deals with the structure and dynamics of matter. These relations are mainly concerned with phase and chemical equilibrium, or dynamic processes such as phase transitions, reaction kinetics, charge transport, and energy exchange between systems and surroundings. Importantly, Physical Chemistry is based on quite a small number of fundamental quantities and general physical concepts. This book tries to provide a complete overview of physical chemistry on the level of a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry, presenting first all the mathematical concepts needed to understand the formalisms as well as the example problems presented in the subsequent chapters on thermodynamics, kinetics, electrochemistry and, finally, a brief introduction into quantum chemistry and spectroscopy."
Includes option to download PDF files for the entire text and individual chapters.
Rice University
Nanotechnology & Nanomaterials
From Rice University:"This module was derived from the module The Early History of Nanotechnology by Devon Fanfair, Salil Desai, and Christopher Kelty, which was developed as part of a Rice University Class called Nanotechnology: Content and Context."
Includes option to download PDF files for the entire text and individual textbooks.
Introduction to Chemistry: A Progressive Approach
From the Abstract:"This book introduces chemistry to beginners. It does this “progressively”, that is, the presentation moves logically from experimental observations to theory. No new ideas are introduced without first giving their experimental basis.The author is a retired lecturer in chemistry at the University of Hull, England. His research interest is in the fundamental ideas of chemistry. "
Organic Chemistry With a Biological Emphasis (Vol. I & II)
From the Abstract:"This textbook is designed for a two-semester, sophomore-level course in Organic Chemistry in which biological chemistry takes center stage. For the most part, the text covers the core concepts of organic structure, structure determination, and reactivity in the standard order. What is different is the context: biological chemistry is fully integrated into the explanation of central principles, and as much as possible the in-chapter and end-of-chapter problems are taken from the biochemical literature. Many laboratory synthesis reactions are also covered, generally in parallel with their biochemical counterparts - but it is intentionally the biological chemistry that comes first."
"Written by Dr. Jeremy Ramsden, this ebook provides a complete look at nanotech—its history, its current usage, and it’s direction. Because the field of nanotechnology is advancing so rapidly, and keeping up to date is challenging, the author has included resources for further reading."
"Contributed by David Harvey Professor (Chemistry and Biochemistry) at DePauw University. This Textmap is complemented by the analytical modules in the core and the supplemental homework exercise and question section."
Introduction to Inorganic Chemistry: Key Ideas and Their Experimental Basis
From the Abstract:"The aim of the book is to introduce students to the basic ideas of inorganic chemistry and to show where they come from. It starts from chemical observations, and develops the ideas from these. It complements texts that start from the quantum theory of atoms and molecules and take a more physical approach."
Courseware
General Chemistry I & II | Carnegie Mellon University, Open Learning Initiative
From the Open Learning Initiative:
OLI's General Chemistry I & II offers "complete coverage of 1st and 2nd semester General Chemistry including: text, embedded and extensive practice with feedback, interactives, simulations, virtual labs, summative assessments, and more!"
OLI General Chemistry I & II includes:
- A scaffolded practice system which provides immediate detailed, targeted feedback for instructors and students.
- A host of adaptive, scenario-based student activities.
- Interactive media elements, including PhET simulations, examples, and ChemCollective Virtual Lab activities.
For more information or enquiries email Sandy Raysor or Professor David Yaron.
To preview the newest version:
1.Visit the OLI homepage 2. Sign up for an account 3."Register for a course" 4. Enter course key: chem-preview
Chemistry | LibreTexts Library
LibreTexts is "a is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books."
LibreText Library is funded and produced by the University of California, Davis, the U.S. Department of Education, Merlot, and the National Science Foundation.
LibreText Chemistry resources include:
- Open Textbooks and Textbook Maps
- Modules including Simulations and Visualizations
- Case Studies and Exemplars
- Chemistry Tables including: Units & Conversions, Organic Chemistry Glossary, and Physical Constants
- Homework Exercises
Faculty and students can create an account to make annotations, download materials, and receive technical support.
Chemistry For Majors | SUNY OER Services & Lumen Learning
Chemistry For Majors "provides an opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them, meeting the scope and sequence of most general chemistry courses."
"This course was developed from generally available open educational resources (OER) in use at multiple institutions, drawing mostly from a primary work published by OpenStax College Chemistry, with substantial contributions from Dr. Jessica Garber at Tidewater Community College and Dr. Shawn Shields at Germanna Community College, and also including additional open works from various sources as noted in attributions on each page of materials."
Chemistry For Majors includes:
- Course Materials: OER modules aligned with student learning outcomes for topics developed for this course from various OER sources. Adopt and adapt or hide/remove.
- Instructor Resources, including the following. Adopt and adapt to use in modules, ignore or remove:
- Assignments
- Getting Started Guide for Faculty
- Problem Sets
- Lecture Slides
- Tests and Quizzes
Chemistry | MIT Open CourseWare
Chemistry | MIT Open CourseWare makes available course packages for both undergraduate and graduate study created by MIT Chemistry Department faculty, including:
Chemistry | Open Yale Courses
- Freshman Organic Chemistry I
- Freshman Organic Chemistry II
This is the first semester in a two-semester introductory course focused on current theories of structure and mechanism in organic chemistry, their historical development, and their basis in experimental observation. The course is open to freshmen with excellent preparation in chemistry and physics, and it aims to develop both taste for original science and intellectual skills necessary for creative research.
This is a continuation of Freshman Organic Chemistry I (CHEM 125a), the introductory course on current theories of structure and mechanism in organic chemistry for students with excellent preparation in chemistry and physics. This semester treats simple and complex reaction mechanisms, spectroscopy, organic synthesis, and some molecules of nature.
Lab Manuals
SUNY OER Services:
Chemistry I Laboratory Manual
From the Abstract:"This lab manual [created by Lumen and SUNY OER Services] accompanies the college chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, stoichiometry, determining limiting reactants and more to complement an introductory chemistry course. This lab manual was developed by Jessica Garber Morales at Tidewater Community College.
Includes Faculty Resources."
MIT Digital
Lab Techniques Manual
From the Course Summary:"The Digital Lab Techniques Manual is a series of videos designed to help you prepare for your chemistry laboratory class. Each video provides a detailed demonstration of a common laboratory technique, as well as helpful tips and information. These videos are meant to supplement, and not replace, your lab manual and assigned reading. In fact, you will most benefit from watching the videos if you have already read the appropriate background information. To be a great experimentalist, you must understand both theory and technique! If you have questions about what you see, make sure to ask your TA or your instructor.".
Media: Podcasts, Videos, Interactives
PhET
Chemistry Simulations
From the PhET Homepage:"Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery."
Chem
Collective: Virtual Labs
From the About:"The Virtual Lab is an online simulation of a chemistry lab. It is designed to help students link chemical computations with authentic laboratory chemistry. The lab allows students to select from hundreds of standard reagents (aqueous) and manipulate them in a manner resembling a real lab."
In addition to the Virtual Lab, ChemCollective offers:
- Auto-graded problems, tutorials, scenario-based activities, molecular level visualizations, simulations, and concept tests.
- Teacher support
- Online Courses through Carnegie Mellon's Open Learning Initiative
- Off-line Javascript versions of each Virtual Lab
General Chemistry Interactive Simulations | SUNY Oneonta
From the About:"General Chemistry Interactive Simulations | SUNY Oneonta is "collection of interactive simulations covers a wide range of general chemistry topics, with each simulation addressing key concepts and enable students to practice and teachers to demonstrate these topics. Includes: the Periodic Table, Coulomb's Law, Names and Formulas of Ionic Compounds, Compounds, Molecules, and Moles, Limiting Reactants, Acid Ionization, Solubility of Ionic Compounds, The pH Scale Titrations, and more."
Created by SUNY Oneonta Professor William Vining