Classics

BIAB provides information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland, producing two updates each year. Most complete from 1940 on. One needs to create an account.

Searches records from 1984-present, but most complete from 1990 on. Print volumes (1962-present) can be found in the Stacks at DG11.B85.

Bulletin de Médecine Ancienne/Ancient Medicine Newsletter indexes books and articles on ancient and Medieval medicine.

Claros is an electronic database containing the successive publications of epigraphical Greek texts re-edited during the last 125 years (and before). Users of CLAROS can consult the data relative to the edition of Greek inscriptions (name and date of publication, and the editor's name; but not the epigraphic text itself). More interestingly, users can retrieve the concordance among inscriptions, that is, the different editions of the same inscription. In addition to the bibliographical reference to the main editions of an epigraphical text, CLAROS contains the reference to numerous corpora of translations of the same Greek texts. They offer a searchable list of abbreviations as well. From Diccionario Griego-Español.

Full coverage from 1974 on. The CDDA compiles a subject bibliography database called DRANT (DRoits ANTiques "Ancient Law") which specializes in the legal, political, economic and social institutions of the ancient Mediterranean world. The DRANT database covers not only the institutions of Ancient Greece and Rome, but also Persia, the Near East and Egypt. While the focus of the database is legal institutions, the listings include numerous references to other topics which are bound to be of interest to a legal historian: papyrology, epigraphy, numismatics, archeology, the history of religions, etc. The references in the database are compiled by surveying all the specialist literature: books, articles in some 420 French and foreign journals, articles in anthologies, conference proceedings, critical reviews, etc. The CDDA analyses approximately 4000 articles and books per year, and includes on average 2000 for the database. To date, the database contains over 56,000 references. (From theDRANT website)

FoLIVM (Fons Litterarum Iuris Veterum & Medii aevi) Lehrstuhl für Bürgerliches Recht, Römisches Recht und Antike Rechtsgeschichte.

With weekly bibliographic uploads, it is more up to date than L'Année philologique.

See Search Tips and Otehr Information.

The present database attempts to collect the basic information on all ancient literary texts, as opposed to documents. At present, it includes items, dating from the fourth century B.C. to A.D. 800 and incorporating authors from Homer (8th cent. B.C.) to Romanus Melodus and Gregorius the Great (6th cent. A.D.), including 3671 texts of which the author can no longer be identified (to find an empty field, type "=" (without the quotes) in the field authorname).

Indexes and abstracts journals and other publications in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics.

1957to present. Print volumes can be found at Z7023.L5N46 RR4Cla. Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. Nestor includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research, if the specific bibliographic items contain Aegean artifacts, imitations, or influences, or make reference to Aegean comparanda.
(From the Nestor website)

Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.

The RI-Opac is a freely accessible database, covering all disciplines of medieval sciences for the European language sphere.

TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online. Most comprehensive from 1992 on.

Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. ZENON indexes books and articles based on the subject catalogues of the offices of the German Archaeological Institute. A Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Art Institute.

Until 1997/1998 The Bulletin of the Institute of Classical Studies at University London[PA25.L84] published a list of Classics theses at the back of each volume. A printed version is available on request.

Limited in content, but provides access to the full text of some French dissertations.