Classics

The database will continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and historical Latin dictionaries. A live link between the Library of Latin Texts and the Database of Latin Dictionaries is available. This link enables the user who has conducted a search on a word in a dictionary within DLD to export this word automatically to its sister-database and thereby identify actual occurrences of the particular word in CLCLT in its actual context. Likewise, a user can select a word found in a text of CLCLT and automatically find entries on the word in the constituent dictionaries of the DLD.

The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names was established in 1972 as a Major Research Project of the British Academy to collect and publish with documentation all known ancient Greek personal names (including non-Greek names recorded in Greek, and Greek names in Latin), drawn from all available sources (literature, inscriptions, graffiti, papyri, coins, vases and other artefacts), within the period from the earliest Greek written records down to, approximately, the sixth century A.D.

By Franz Blatt (1903-1979) & Reimer Hemmingsen (1922-1998) from Hans Christophersen, in Denmark.

The Suda is a massive 10th century Byzantine Greek historical encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world, derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by yet earlier authors. The purpose of the Suda On Line is to open up this stronghold of information by means of a freely accessible, keyword-searchable, XML-encoded database with translations, annotations, bibliography, and automatically generated links to a number of other important electronic resources. (From their Web site.)

From the University of Chicago Library.

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

-- Italian-English
-- English-Italian