Classics

Abbreviationes™, the first database of medieval Latin abbreviations, is designed for use in both learning and teaching of medieval Latin paleography. Abbreviationes™ is also a highly useful reference and research tool. It consists of a database (Main Dictionary) and a database application (Abbreviationes™) – a mature, robust, and reliable program, suitable for everyone from the novice to the expert. The database is immeasurably more effective than a printed dictionary in terms of speed and efficiency. Furthermore, the database currently comprises over 70,000 entries, containing a total of 80,098 references to manuscripts. Thanks to annual updates and enhancements, the Main Dictionary will continue to grow steadily. Abbreviationes™ is a standard reference work and reflects the state of contemporary scholarship. Examples and Instructions.

One million incipits covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance
An inevitable research tool for all those scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
- 1,000,000 records from 3 major institutes and a number of individual collections
- approximately 25,000 new entries on-stream from 2004 onwards
- updates twice a year, in March and September
- a search screen that is identical for the online and the DVD publication
- a search screen providing guidance for searching by offering 10 search fields that enable precise searching
- multilingual search interface (English – French – German)