LibGuides: Classics: Abbreviations

Abbreviations of Journals, Standard Reference Works, and Corpora

General
- Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines compiled by J. S. Wellington (1983). This work is useful not only for tracking down abbreviations, but also for discovering alternate titles or title changes. PA99.W44 1983
- L'Année philologique, Z7016.A1A6 RR4Cla 4th floor
  or search Web version under Other Criteria - Periodical. A full list is also available from UNC-Greensboro.
- "Instructions for Contributors," American Journal of Archaeology
- S. Hornblower and A. Spawforth, eds., The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd rev. edi. DE5.O9 Ref
- A. P. Kazhdan, ed., The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium DF521.O930 1991 RR4Cla ODB Online [Via Hunter Proxy] Click on "Abbreviations" tab
Epigraphy and Papyrology
- Abbreviations in CLAROS: Concordance of Greek Inscriptions, good for Greek epigraphy
- Checklist of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets
Biblical and Ancient Near East
- (Mathieu) Abréviations des periodiques et collections en usage à l'Institut français d'archéologie orientale. A PDF edition is available.
- SBL Handbook of Style: for Ancient Near East, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies Section 8.4, A PDF edition is available.

Classical
- Liddell, Scott, Jones, eds., Greek-English Lexicon (LSJ) PA445.E5L824
- Oxford Latin Dictionary PA2365.E5095
- Lewis and Short, eds., Latin Dictionary PA2365.E5A71 RR4Cla
- H. Cancik and H. Schneider, eds., Der Neue Pauly DE5.N48 1999
- S. Hornblower and A. Spawforth, eds., The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD), 3rd ed. DE5.O90 2003
Byzantine
- A. P. Kazhdan, ed., The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium DF521.O930 1991
- Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität. Verzeichnis der Abkürzungen PA1125.L494 2001
Patristic
- Lampe, ed. Patristic Greek Lexicon PA881.P3 RR4Cla
- Dekkers, Clavis Patrum Latinorum BR60.D45 1995 RR4Cla
- Geerard, Clavis Patrum Graecorum BR67.G29
- H. J. Frede, ed., Kirchenschriftsteller: Verzeichnis und Sigel. Vetus Latina BS71 1949 v. 1pt.1

Abbreviationes Online
Abbreviationes™, the first database of medieval Latin abbreviations, is designed for use in both learning and teaching of medieval Latin paleography. Abbreviationes™ is also a highly useful reference and research tool. It consists of a database (Main Dictionary) and a database application (Abbreviationes™) – a mature, robust, and reliable program, suitable for everyone from the novice to the expert. The database is immeasurably more effective than a printed dictionary in terms of speed and efficiency. Furthermore, the database currently comprises over 70,000 entries, containing a total of 80,098 references to manuscripts. Thanks to annual updates and enhancements, the Main Dictionary will continue to grow steadily. Abbreviationes™ is a standard reference work and reflects the state of contemporary scholarship. Examples and Instructions
Cappelli, Adriano, Lexicon Abbreviaturarum
Z111.C26 1967