Classics

By Prof. Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe at Sweetbriar College. Provides links to images under headings such as Prehistoric Art, Ancient Near East, Egyptian Art, Greek Art, Roman Art, and Art in Late Antiquity.

Provides links to images under headings such as Prehistoric Art, Ancient Near East, Egyptian Art, Greek Art, Roman Art, and Art in Late Antiquity.

Provides links to images under headings such as Prehistoric Art, Ancient Near East, Egyptian Art, Greek Art, Roman Art, and Art in Late Antiquity.

Image database covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to begin using the database.

Provided by Oxford university

The Bridgeman Art Library is the world's leading source of fine art with images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists. We represent museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users.

A database of more than 50,000 images of works of art contributed by museums in the United States, Canada and Great Britain. The scope of the database covers prehistory to the present, with works from Europe, the Americas, Asia and Africa. Included are paintings, sculptures, drawings, textiles, photographs, prints, costumes and jewelry, works of decorative art, books and manuscripts. CAMIO is the replacement for AMICO, which was phased out in July, 2005

The result of a project to digitize out of print fascicules of the CVA and make them browsable and searchable. The project is on-going; new fascicules are being published and participating museums have the opportunity to contribute to the online database.

A browsable and searchable collection of images of sites and monuments of ancient Greece and Rome. Photos by Leo C. Curran.

The Oriental Institute Museum at the University of Chicago is a showcase of the history, art and archaeology of the ancient Near East. This collection of images highlights objects chosen to illuminate some of the more interesting and important aspects of ancient Near Eastern civilizations.

A sampling of over 2000 images from the photographic archives of the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago, focusing especially on Persepolis and Ancient Iran as well as the 1905-1907 Breasted Expeditions to Egypt and Sudan. The archives document the Institute's expeditions and activities from 1892 to the present.

Contains interactive sources and studies on Ancient Greece, including Greek texts and English translations, and over 4,000 vase, sculpture and coin images from museum collections. Pereus 2.0 on CD-ROM is available in in the 4th Floor Digital Media Collection at CDROMDF77.P477 1996.

Built on four main pillars—Asian art, European art, modern art and design, and contemporary art—the collections include recognized masterworks as well as clusters of works that introduce important, though lesser known, areas of art history. Strengths across the collections include figurative art, works on paper, and small-scale sculpture, as well as materials that illuminate artists' working methods and contexts.

The VRoma Project is a community of scholars, both teachers and students, who create online resources for teaching about the Latin language and ancient Roman culture. The images in the VRoma Archive are freely available for all non-commercial use on the web.