Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography and Environmental Sciences

Gazetteers

  • Columbia Gazetteer - Geographic properties, physical aspects, political properties, infrastructure and natural resources of the world
  • Australian Geographic Place Names - Online searchable version of the Gazetteer of Australia.
  • Canadian Geographical Names Database - Canada’s authoritative source for all official geographical names and their associated attributes, maintained by Geographical Names Board of Canada.
  • U.S. Census Gazetteers - Directory of files which provide a listing of all geographic areas for selected geographic area types and include geographic identifier codes, names, area measurements, and representative latitude and longitude coordinates.
  • Thesaurus of Geographic Names - Getty Research Institute's searchable database.
  • JewishGen - Searchable database of Jewish communities, existing and historical, around the world.
  • Global Gazetteer - Browseable directory of 2,880,532 of the world's cities and towns, sorted by country and linked to a map for each town.
  • GeoNames - Browseable, searchable, and downloadable directory of over 11 million place names worldwide.
  • U.S. Board on Geographic Names - Search or browse the USGS databases of foreign, domestic, Antarctic, and undersea names. Or find the individual naming authority for a particular state (or Antarctic region) here.