Geography and Environmental Science Databases (full text)
- Environmental Studies: Gale in Context (formerly GREENR) - Supports study of the environment, energy, sustainability and natural resources through news, background information, video, commentaries, statistics, and primary source documents.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
- JSTOR: Environmental Science - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
- JSTOR: Geography - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
- JoVE: Environment - Pub Med indexed, peer-reviewed video journal of research that includes methods and techniques for studying the Earth's ecosystems, addressing environmental concerns, and protecting natural resources.
- National Geographic Archive - Every page and photograph of the National Geographic magazine from 1888-1994, fully searchable.
Science/Geography and Environmental Science Databases (abstract/citation only)
- GeoRef - Index from the American Geological Institute to journals and other publications in geoscience.
- GreenFILE - Bibliographic database about environmental concerns from scholarly and general interest publications and government documents.
- Inspec Archive 1898-1968 - Archive of index to papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing and control engineering.
Science/General Databases (that include Geography/Environmental Science content)
- Academic Search Complete - The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.
- AccessScience - McGraw-Hill’s online resource covering all scientific disciplines. It includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, plus biographies, definitions, images and videos.
- Bioline International - Open access journals from developing countries.
- General Science - Science articles for students and the general public; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
- Google Scholar - Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Project Muse - An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- Science in Context - Integrates authoritative scientific reference content with headlines and videos to demonstrate how science relates to the real world. Includes images, experiments and videos.
- SpringerLink - Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal.
- Web of Science - Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
General Databases/Related Fields (for background research/topic selection)
- Artstor - Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.
- CIA World Fact Book - Concise background information on nations, updated periodically.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - The full text of hundreds of reference books.
- Nexis Uni - Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Full text articles from magazines and newspapers representing pros and con opinions on controversial topics and current events.
- Social Sciences Full Text - Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
- Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 - Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.