Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European History

This guide focuses on resources for researching European History during the Medieval, Early Modern and Modern periods.

Secondary Source Databases

  • Academic Search Complete is the premier multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. It contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles, and is updated daily. The following short tutorial can help you begin your search in EBSCOhost, the platform that supports Academic Search Complete:
     
     
  • ArtSTOR provides faculty and students with access to over over 2.5 million images in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent.
  • Google Scholar can be helpful when trying to tracking down partial citations or to see how often (or where) a given article has been cited.
  • JSTOR contains full text scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
  • Project Muse is an online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

For the full list of Hunter European History Databases here.

For the full list of Hunter College Databases click here.