Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European History

This guide focuses on resources for researching European History during the Medieval, Early Modern and Modern periods.

Books

When you find a book you want, be sure to note the call number, which will tell you where the book is located on the shelf. Though history is covered in every discipline (e.g., women's history may be located in the women's studies call numbers while the medical history may be in the medicine call numbers), the major sections for European history can be found under those call numbers beginning with D.

If you want to browse the collection, European History books are located on Floor 4:

You can browse by topic using the following call numbers:

D History General
DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria, Hungary, Czech
DD Germany
DE Greco-Roman
DF Greece
DG Italy
DH Low Countries
DJ Netherlands
DK Russia, former Soviet Union, Poland
DL Scandinavia
DP Spain & Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkans

E-Book Databases/ Repositories

E-Books

  • Ebook Central (ProQuest) - The site for thousands of ebooks on all topics from this vendor. It includes the collection formerly known as Ebrary Academic Collection.
  • EBSCO eBook Collection - A selected collection of ebooks (formerly NetLibrary).
  • JSTOR - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
  • Online Books Page - Full text of over 20,000 free online books, maintained by the Univ. of Pennsylvania.
  • Project Muse -  Project Muse is an online collection of full text journals and ebooks published by John Hopkins University Press and  other university presses.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online - Full text of selected Oxford handbooks.
  • SpringerLink - Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal.  
  • Very Short Introductions - Brief, authoritative introductions to a variety of topics from Oxford University Press.