European History

Encyclopedias & Reference Works

Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information. This is a selection of European history-related encyclopedias and reference works, for others please search the Hunter Libraries Catalog or ask a reference librarian.

• Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
  Cooperman Library Reference, Floor B2, Call number: DE5 .N3513 2002
• Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
  More than 700 entries on all aspects of the Enlightenment
• Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
  More than 3,000 entries on medieval Europe
• Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
• Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
  Cooperman Library Reference, Floor B2, Call number: D804.25 .E53 2000
• Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
• Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
  Multi-volume encyclopedia of modern European history
• Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
  Multi-volume encyclopedia of modern Europe
• Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
  Multi-volume encyclopedia of modern Europe
• Europe: Country Studies
  Book length accounts of 21 European countries published in the 1980s and 1990s
• Gale Virtual Reference
  More than 100 special encyclopedias covering all subjects
• Holocaust Encyclopedia
  Encyclopedia produced by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
• Neue Deutsche Biographie
  Standard German multi-volume biographical dictionary
• Store Norske Leksikon
  Norwegian encyclopedia
• Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
  More than 2,000 entries on modern world history.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
  More than 1,200 entries on the Reformation.
• Oxford English Dictionary - Full text, fully searchable version of the OED, with 1,000 new entries, updated quarterly.
• Oxford Reference Online
  Full text of over 100 Oxford reference works on a variety of subjects.
• YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe