Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Guides for Silberman School of Social Work

City University of New York, Hunter College, Hunter College Libraries

APA Publication Manual 7th Edition

Choosing a Citation Manager

Citation Managers are software packages that allow you to quickly download citation data from databases and websites, insert in-text citations into your writing, and format in-text citations and bibliographies in multiple citation styles including APA.  The Social Work & Urban Public Health Library primarily support RefWorks and Zotero.

We strongly encourage you to use a citation manager in your research and in your writing.  Consistent use of a citation manager will not only expedite APA formatted referencing and bibliographies but will also result in a personal database of academic resources.

Zotero

Zotero is an open-source, web-based citation manager that lives on your browser.  You can collect, organize, cite your references and create bibliographies according to the APA Publication Manual.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. Users can import references from a search performed in an online database automatically or enter references manually.  RefWorks can interface directly with Word, making it easy to  incorporate references into your writing as properly formatted citations and to build your bibliography according to the APA Publication Manual.