LibGuides: Psychology: Websites

Evaluating Web sites

It's important to be critical when considering websites. Make sure the information is reliable and it comes from a credible source. The following guide from UC Berekley provides some tools for helping you evaluate the quality of a website (in addition to just about any source you consider):

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask

Questions to consider:

What can the URL tell you?
Who wrote the page?
When was the page last updated?
What are authors' credentials?
Are sources documented with footnotes?
Does it link from other pages?

Psychology Websites

American Psychological Association
APA's home page. Contains information about the association, their publications, some job listings, etc. Some aspects of this page require a members login. This does not offer online access to the APA style manual.
Classics in the History of Psychology
From York University in Canada... an exceptional list of the classic writings in the field of Psychology, many of which are available in full-text. Has a list of documents sorted by topic and by author. The entire list can be searched using the Google search engine. This is worth your time to look at.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Titled "The Encyclopedia of Psychology" this site is intended to facilitate browsing in any area of psychology. There are two paths envisioned for this purpose: Original information generated by respected researchers and practitioners in various fields of psychology. A hierarchical database of links to websites providing information about scientific psychology. William Palya Department of Psychology, Jacksonville State University.
Fenichel's Current Topics in Psychology
An interesting collection of articles and information on a variety of psychology-related topics. Be warned that no information is given on the credentials of the compiler of this page.
Psych Web
This website contains lots of psychology related information for students and teachers of psychology. Psych Web was created by Russell A. Dewey, Ph.D., and contains a wide range of interesting links to other pages on psychology related topics.
Social Psychology Network
Maintained at Weslyan University and funded by an NSF grant, this site offers links to a variety of pages of interest to students and faculty in Social Psychology, and Psychology in general.
The Whole Brain Atlas
A wonderfully complete visual site that shows scans of the brain in various conditions.