Clay Williams
Eastern Europe
According to the United Nations, the countries of Eastern Europe include:
Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia and Ukraine.
Russia & Cold War
- Analytic Reports Produced by the Directorate of Intelligence on the Former Soviet Union
More than 800 declassified CIA reports dating from 1951 to 1991. - Cold War International History Project
The Cold War International History Project, established in 1991, supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War. - Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online
Summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War - Making the History of 1989
Collection of translated primary documents, essays and teacher guides dealing with the fall of communism - Marxists.org
The Marxists Internet Archive (MIA) is an all-volunteer, non-profit public library, established in its present form in 1998. MIA contains the writings of around 850 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, generally spanning the past 200 years. MIA contains these writings in 80 different languages, comprising a total size of over 180,000 documents and 288 GB of data. - Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918-1922
More than 200 digitized posters from the Russian Civil War - Prokudin-Gorskii Collection
Historic photographs taken by the Tsar's photographer during the first years of the 20th Century - Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860- 1945
More than 5,000 digitized photographs
Other Eastern Europe
- 1956 Digital Archive
Digital archive on the 1956 uprising in Hungary. - Centrum medievistických studií
Primary sources dealing with Czech medieval history. - Dziennik Zwiazkowy
Digitized Polish newspaper from 1908-1917. - Historical Photography by Šechtl & Voseček
Archive of almost 20,000 19th and 20th century photographs of the Czech Republic and other areas. - Kramerius
Collection of digitized books and magazines related to Czech history; requires DjVu plug-in. - Magyar Elektronikus Könyvtár
More than 7,000 digitized documents, images and more related to Hungarian life and history. - National Digital Library Polona
Digital versions of Polish literary and historical texts from the Middle Ages through the mid-20th century.