Winners of the 26th Annual Paul LeClerc Competition for Best Research Papers
100-Level Undergraduate Winners
1st Place: Karen Sanchez
"The Sociocultural Effect: Why are Latina immigrants afraid to report domestic violence?"
ENGL 120, Fall 2018, Professor Ellen Kombiyil
2nd Place: Michelle Cedeno
"Exploring Inadequate Mental Healthcare in African-American and Latino Communities"
ENGL 120, Fall 2018, Professor Jack Kenigsberg
Upper-Level Undergraduate Winners
1st Place: Bart Rosenzweig
"The Closing of Indian Point: A Historical and Environmental Analysis"
MHC 250, Spring 2018, Professor Owen Gutfreund
2nd Place: Arianna Chinchilla
"From Pathology to Prodigy: 'The Einstein Syndrome'"
ENGL 342, Spring 2018, Professor Katie Winkelstein-Duveneck
Graduate-level Winners
1st Place: Anita Favretto
"The Growing Impact of Social Isolation on Older Adult Services"
URBG 700, Spring 2018, Professor Ryan Yeung
2nd Place: Emily Holloway
"Regulating Short-Term Rentals in New York City"
URBG 700, Spring 2018, Ryan Yeung
Guest Speaker
Fifty Early Medieval Things by
Fifty Early Medieval Things introduces readers to the material culture of late antique and early medieval Europe, north Africa, and western Asia. Ranging from Iran to Ireland and from Sweden to Tunisia, Deborah Deliyannis, Hendrik Dey, and Paolo Squatriti present fifty objects--artifacts, structures, and archaeological features--created between the fourth and eleventh centuries, an ostensibly "Dark Age" whose cultural richness and complexity is often underappreciated. Each thing introduces important themes in the social, political, cultural, religious, and economic history of the postclassical era. Some of the things, like a simple ard (plow) unearthed in Germany, illustrate changing cultural and technological horizons in the immediate aftermath of Rome's collapse; others, like the Arabic coin found in a Viking burial mound, indicate the interconnectedness of cultures in this period. Objects such as the Book of Kells and the palace-city of Anjar in present-day Jordan represent significant artistic and cultural achievements; more quotidian items (a bone comb, an oil lamp, a handful of chestnuts) belong to the material culture of everyday life. In their thing-by-thing descriptions, the authors connect each object to both specific local conditions and to the broader influences that shaped the first millennium AD, and also explore their use in modern scholarly interpretations, with suggestions for further reading. Lavishly illustrated and engagingly written, Fifty Early Medieval Things demonstrates how to read objects in ways that make the distant past understandable and approachable.
Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collections, 2nd Floor CB351.D43 2019ISBN: 9781501725890Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Professor Hendrik Dey, an archaeologist and historian specializing in cities and urbanism in the Mediterranean during and after the fall of the Roman Empire. He splits his research time and interests between the city of Rome and underwater archaeological fieldwork at Caesarea Maritima in Israel (with EC Fellow Beverly Goodman). His several books include one on Rome in the early Middle Ages (The Aurelian Wall and the Refashioning of Imperial Rome, 271-855, Cambridge U. Press, 2011), and an urban history of medieval Rome from 400 – 1400, currently in progress. A former Rome Prize Fellow of the American Academy in Rome, he is currently Professor in the Department of Art and Art History at Hunter College. He received his Ph.D. in Classical Art and Archaeology from the University of Michigan in 2006.
2019 Faculty Publications
Routledge Companion to Imaginary Worlds by Call Number: Ebbok and print, Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor P96 .G46 R68 2018ISBN: 9781317268284Publication Date: 2018"The Hero's Journey," chapter by Lily Alexander, Classical and Oriental Studies
Contact High by Call Number: ML3531 .T606 2018ISBN: 9780525573883Publication Date: 2018-10-16Chapter by Alice Arnold, Film and Media Studies
Transforming Libraries to Serve Graduate Students by Call Number: Special Collections, 2nd Floor Z711.92 .G73 T73 2018ISBN: 9780838946060Publication Date: 2018-10-01Chapters by Margaret Bausman, Adina Mulliken, John Pell, Schools of Social Work and Urban Public Health Library
Hidden Histories: Religion and Reform in South Asia by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor BP89 H53 2018ISBN: 9789386552846Publication Date: 2018-05-21
Lucio Fontana - On the Threshold by Call Number: N6923 .F6 A4 2019ISBN: 9781588396822Publication Date: 2019-02-19
A Long Way from Home by Call Number: PR9619.3 .C36 L66 2018ISBN: 9780525520177Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Nine Plays of Early America 1763-1818 by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collections, 2nd FloorISBN: 9780985693541Publication Date: 2017
Contemplating Dis/Ability in Schools and Society: A Life in Education by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781498568227Publication Date: 2018
Musical Improvisation and Open Form in the Age of Beethoven by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor ML430.7 .M87 2018ISBN: 9781138222960Publication Date: 2017-12-13Chapter "Didacticism and Display in the Capriccio and Prelude for Violin, 1785-1840" by Catherine Coppola (Department of Music)
Close apart: Poems by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PS3553 .O72 C54 2018ISBN: 9781732302501Publication Date: 2018
Teaching Double Negatives by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor LC4069.6 .C69 2018ISBN: 9781433155765Publication Date: 2018-05-31
Aesthetics at Large by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor N66 .D88 2018ISBN: 9780226546568Publication Date: 2019-02-27- Fifty Early Medieval Things by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor CB351 .D43 2019ISBN: 9781501725890Publication Date: 2019-03-15
John Donne and Contemporary Poetry by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PR2248 .J592 2017ISBN: 9783319552996Publication Date: 2017-10-02Chapter "Quiver, Chatter, Purple Jinx: On Donne, Translation, and the Psalms" by Mark Dow (Department of English)
Plain Talk Rising by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PS3604 .O9385 P53 2018ISBN: 9780692107966Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Redemption by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PG3481.2 .R45 I713 2018ISBN: 9780231185141Publication Date: 2018-10-23
Dual Current: Inseparable Elements in Painting and Architecture by Call Number: Zabar New Books, 1608 HN N72 .A75 D82 2017ISBN: 0976166364Publication Date: 2017-10-16- Radiant Energy by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor N6512.7 .R32 2018ISBN: 9780925915566Publication Date: 2018-02-02
The Thing of Mine I Have Loved Best by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor NK7308 .H34 2018ISBN: 9780997184266Publication Date: 2018-05-18
The Death of Democracy : Hitler's Rise to Power and the Downfall of the Weimar Republic by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor DD240 .H37 2018ISBN: 9781250162502Publication Date: 2018-04-03
In Our Own Voices, Redux by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 9781538115374Publication Date: 2018-06-01Chapter "Reflections of a Long Journey" by Mee-Len Hom (Hunter College Libraries)
Pattern and Decoration: Ornament As Promise by Call Number: Zabar New Books, 1608 HN NK1404 .P385 2018ISBN: 9783960984009Publication Date: 2018-11-20Work included by Valerie Jaudon (Department of Art and Art History)
American Eden : David Hosack, Botany, and Medicine in the Garden of the Early Republic by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor QK99 .U6 J64 2018ISBN: 9781631494192Publication Date: 2018-06-05- Physical Therapy for the Older Adult: Examination and Intervention by Publication Date: 2017Chapter ”Aging with a progressive neurologic disease: physical therapy management of the elderly patient with Parkinson’s Disease and Multiple Sclerosis,” by Herb Karpatkin (Physical Therapy)
The Noisemakers : Estridentismo, Vanguardism, and Social Action in Postrevolutionary Mexico by Call Number: Zabar Art Library, ( Non-Circ), 1608 HN N6555.5 .E76 K59 2018ISBN: 9780520296404Publication Date: 2018-06-08
Visual Typologies from the Early Modern to the Contemporary by Call Number: Zabar Art Library, ( Non-Circ), 1608 HN N8222 .M36 V57 2019ISBN: 9781138200135Publication Date: 2018-07-05
Social Workers Count: Numbers and Social Issues by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor HV41 .L47 2019ISBN: 9780190467135Publication Date: 2018-12-06
In Person: Reenactment in Postwar and Contemporary Cinema by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PN1995.9 .R3 M36 2019ISBN: 9780190496821Publication Date: 2019-01-04
Stray: Memoir of a Runaway by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor HV1441 .B8 M37 2018ISBN: 9781503949164Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Thinking Sociolinguistically by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor P40.3 .M37 2019ISBN: 1137605979Publication Date: 2018-11-14
Conditions of the Present: Selected Essays by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PS153 .N5 B297 2018ISBN: 9780822370321Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Precision Molecular Pathology of Liver Cancer by ISBN: 9783319680804Publication Date: 2018-01-25Chapter "Epithileal-to-Mesenchymal Transition in Hepatocellular Carcinoma" by O.O. Ogunwobi (Department of Biological Sciences)
Women and Puppetry: Critical and Historical Investigations by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 9780415787390Publication Date: 2019-04-18- Luigi Ghirri : The Map and the Territory by Call Number: Zabar New Books, 1608 HNISBN: 1912339080Publication Date: 2018Chapter "Luigi Ghirri's Necessary Image" by Antonella Pelizzari (Department of Art and Art History)
Tea Ceremonies for Winter by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor PS3566.E69134 T42 2018ISBN: 9781887276894Publication Date: 2018-09-09
Online Education: Foundations, Planning, and Pedagogy by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor LB1044.87 .P515 2019ISBN: 9780415784115Publication Date: 2018-08-02
Aesthetics of the Margins / the Margins of Aesthetics: Wild Art Explained by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor N61 .C36 2019ISBN: 9780271081137Publication Date: 2018-12-14
Neoliberalizing the University: Implications for American Democracy by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor LC67.6 .N46 2016ISBN: 9781138194748Publication Date: 2017- Hans Hofmann: The California Exhibitions, 1931 by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor ND237 .H667 A4 2019ISBN: 9781732009943Publication Date: 20019
Sherrie Levine by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor N6537 .L453 S55 2018ISBN: 9780262038584Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Capital City: Gentrification and the Real Estate State by Call Number: Cooperman Library Special Collection, 2nd floor HT170 .S82 2019ISBN: 9781786636393Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Nari Ward: We the People by Call Number: Zabar Art Library, ( Non-Circ), 1608 HN N6537 .W27 A4 2019ISBN: 9780714879147Publication Date: 2019-03-11A critical examination of the work of one of the most significant and original sculptors and installation artists living today Jamaican-born Nari Ward (Department of Art and Art History) is best known for his large-scale sculptures and installations, many of which are created from unexpected materials collected around his urban neighborhood.
