Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy

Finding Peer Reviewed Articles and Book Reviews

Primary Databases:

Philosopher's Index is the most comprehensive database for scholarly materials in philosophy.

a. Find it! Where citations don’t link to the full text, they will feature this link. If Hunter has full text access to the article cited, Find it! will take you to it. If Hunter doesn’t subscribe to the full text, Find it! will check CUNY+ (Hunter’s catalog) for you. (See below for complete information on how to search CUNY+ for journal articles.)

b. Combining Philosopher’s Index with other EBSCO databases, for example, Academic Search Complete, Psycinfo, or Socindex. Click on Choose databases from the top of your search screen.

c. Limiting to book reviews. After you've run a search look for Source Type in the left panel. Check the Book Reviews box.

 

Other relevant databases

1. EBSCO (all databases). Comprehensive multi-disciplinary database; includes Philosopher's Index, as well as Psycinfo and Socindex.

2. Jstor. Jstor is an archive of the leading journals in nearly every academic discipline. It is entirely full text and offers access to dozens of highly regarded philosophy journals. The search engine is on the crude side. By default it searches the full text of articles, which can lead to a glut of results.

3. Project Muse. Project Muse is an archive of selected peer reviewed journals with considerable coverage of ancient philosophy.

Advice: Search All Fields except text.

Comprehensive bibliography of philosophy books, journal articles, archives, and personal pages: Philpapers

Database basics:

and narrows: metaphysics and epistemology retrieves only those records in which both terms occur.

or broadens: metaphysics or epistemology retrieves articles containing either term.

* truncates: metaphysic* retrieves metaphysics, metaphysical, etc.