Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics and Astronomy

Full Text and “Find it at CUNY”

Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.

Limiting to full text will provide results like this:

limit to full textfull text available

Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.

find it at cuny

Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:

find it at cuny links

If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

You can access Interlibrary Loan (ILL) HERE or via the library website:

interlibrary loan (ill)

You will need to know your NetID to access ILL, and the first time you log in, you will need to create an account:

create ILL account

Once your account is set up, you can submit a request:

ill request

To request an article, select "New Request: Article" and fill in the required information:

request article ill

You will then receive an email with a PDF of the article in about 1-5 days.

This is a fantastic service for ELECTRONIC ARTICLES (and print books) that CUNY does not subscribe to. Get in the habit of using this -- it's easy! Everything is free -- (this is especially helpful when you hit a brick wall in your search and it looks like you have to pay for an article: you don't! Just use ILL!). You can also use ILL for full print books, chapters, and some AV materials.