It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health and Informatics Resources
This guide provides resources to Hunter College students, faculty members, visiting scholars, and others conducting research about various topics including health, biology, computer science, chemistry, and geography.
CINAHL Complete - Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals with extensive full text.
Public Health Databases
PubMed - The search engine for the National Library of Medicine’s database of citations to millions of articles in thousands of biomedical journals. CLICK HERE for tutorial and help information on using PubMed.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection - A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.
Web of Science - Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
SocINDEX with Full-Text - Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.
Medline - Ovid - Comprehensive journal index from the National Library of Medicine to over 4,600 biomedical journals.
PsycINFO (APA) - Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Has links to the full text of PsychArticles.
Business Source Complete - Full text of over 2800 scholarly journals in business, economics, accounting and management. Includes company profiles; updated daily.
ScienceDirect - Full text access to the long list of Elsevier Science and Academic Ideal journals available through the CUNY consortium.
LexisNexis (Nexis Uni) - Full text database of newspapers and other news sources; legal information including U.S. Code, state laws and reviews; business news and company financial information; medical abstracts, biographical information and country and state profiles.
PEDro - This database is created by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health, which is affiliated with the University of Sydney. PEDro is geared toward physical therapy students and researchers.
PsycArticles - PsycArticles is published by the American Psychological Association (APA). This database covers psychology related topics.