Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tests and Measures

Contents of this Page

Important: After you search for citations to tests using the resources below, check CUNY's Library Catalog to see if the Library has the book or journal in which your test is located.  Enter the title of the book or journal into the Catalog.  Click on Title or Journal Title.  Click Search.  For journals, also check  E-journal Locator .  Please contact Adina Mulliken or Ask Us for help if needed.

Using Eric to Find Citations to Tests in Books, Journal Articles or Other Formats

ERIC Useful for social work in educational settings and any topics pertaining to children. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards and guidelines. Covers 1966 to the present; updated monthly.

 

You can try using the Tests/Questionnaires limit, as shown here:

 Publications Type box: Tests/Questionnaires selected

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The "Tests/Questionnaires" limiter may not always work consistently. As an alternative, in order to find articles that have reprints of tests in the appendix or attachment, you can try entering the string append* OR attach* in one of the search boxes when you type in your search. This will help you retrieve articles that have an appended or attached test. The * tells the database to look for different endings of the word, such as append, appended, appendix, attached or attachment.


However, the word attach* will also pull up results on the topic of attachment.  If you get many results like this, you may want to try only using append*

Using HAPI to Find Citations to Tests in Books or Journal Articles

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Please Note: The full-text of the instruments are not included in the database
Description: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

  • You can search to see if the Library has the "Source" listed for an instrument.  The "Source" may be a book, article or other format.  The "Source" may include the full text of the instrument, especially if the "Source Code" says "Primary Source."  
  •   To limit your search to tests that should be freely available in a book or journal article:   
    • Enter one or two terms for your topic.  Or, if you already have a title of a test you want to find, enter the title and choose title in the drop down menu.
    • Choose: "primary source" in the "Source Code" box (bottom right of the screen)

Additional Places to Search for Tests in Books, Journal Articles, or Online

These sites DO NOT INCLUDE FULL TEXT OF TEST INSTRUMENTS, but will tell you which books have full text.

SDSU Test Finder (Finds tests in books.)

USF Tests and Measures Collection (Finds tests in books.  The Silberman and CUNY Libraries have most of these books.)

Registry of Scales and Measures

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes   (Finds tests in books.  The Silberman and CUNY Libraries have most of these books.)

New version of Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences as of September, 2019
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
Call Numbers: Hunter Main BF431 .G625
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - BF431 .G62
(Use the index or table of contents in this set of volumes.)

Using Test Collection at ETS to Find Citations to Tests in Microfiche, Journal Articles, Books, or Other Formats

 ETS Test Link Database will let you search by topic or for a particular test.  Some of these tests (those that say "Availability: Tests in microfiche") are available in some libraries on microfiche, which you can print out.   Some tests in the database are listed as available in a journal.  You can check whether the Library has a subscription to the journal online or in print.  For tests in this database that are not available on microfiche or in a journal, it may be necessary to contact the author and/or purchase the test to obtain a copy of it. According to ETS, " while we have more than 25,000 tests indexed in the database, not all are standardized tests – many are research instruments, some standardized on very small populations, like a classroom of psychology students. Our goal is to collect and index assessment instruments of all kinds."

To find tests in Tests in Microfiche for some years, you can use the print index located at Hunter Main Reference Desk 4th Floor:

Tests in Microfiche Annotated Index, 1988-2000. [Print source]

Cumulative index to Tests in microfiche, 1975-1987 / cumulation produced by John C. Hepner. [Print source]

Using PsycInfo to Find Citations to Tests in Journal Articles or Books

PsycINFO: Psychological Abstracts (1887-present)  

There are not many citations to articles that have test instruments appended in PsycInfo, so it makes sense to keep your search general, such as one keyword.  In order to find articles that have reprints of tests in the appendix, it is helpful to use the keyword "append*" when you type in words for your search. Using the word "append*" will help you retrieve articles that have an appended test. Make sure to use the *at the root of a word. The * tells the database to look for the word append, appended, or appendix.

As you look through the abstracts of the articles, look for keywords like "Appended". This often means that you will find the full-text of the instrument in the appendix of the article.

 (taken from Kate Silfen, Boston College Libguide)