About this guide
This Guide highlights economics and accounting resources that can be found at Hunter College and on the web. When available, links directly to electronic resources are provided. Please note that if you are off campus, you will be prompted to sign in to the proxy using your NetID. For more information about remote access see Access From Home.
On this page you will find links to reference resources. Select one of the tabs above for other types of resources.
Economic Indicators
Economic Indicators
Monthly economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. On GPO's Federal Digital System.
Reference - Economics
- Oxford reference: dictionary of economics This link opens in a new windowIncludes 2,500 key economic terms covering all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labor economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, environmental economics, and others.
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance This link opens in a new windowPart of the Gale Virtual Reference Library, this resource covers five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems.
- Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
Provides information about the purpose, use, and availability of economic indicators in a broad sense of the term. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, how they are used, where their values are published, and where one can find further information about them.
Reference - Accounting
- Oxford Reference: A Dictionary of Accounting This link opens in a new windowThis reference resource provides definitions of the latest financial terms along with coverage of financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, direct and indirect taxation, corporate finance, and auditing. Coverage is international in scope.
- Encyclopedia of Finance This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Finance is comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, integrating current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications.