Additional journals related to Social Work can be located in the Databases and Collections of Journals tab.
Indexed? Social Work Abstracts and Social Service Abstracts
Ads on page? no
Are parts not freely available? no
Published by? Indiana University School of Social Work
Funding? Open Journal Systems (OJS) is a journal management and publishing system that has been developed by the Public Knowledge Project through its federally funded efforts to expand and improve access to research. OJS is open source software made freely available to journals worldwide for the purpose of making open access publishing a viable option for more journals.
Platform? Open Journal Systems (OJS) is a journal management and publishing system
Frequency? Semi-annually
Year started? 2000
Description: Advances in Social Work is committed to enhancing the linkage among social work practice, research, and education. Accordingly, the journal addresses current issues, challenges, and responses facing social work practice and education. The journal invites discussion and development of innovations in social work practice and their implications for social work research and education. Advances in Social Work seeks to publish empirical, conceptual, and theoretical articles that make substantial contributions to the field in all areas of social work including clinical practice, community organization, social administration, social policy, planning, and program evaluation. The journal provides a forum for scholarly exchange of research findings and ideas that advance knowledge and inform social work practice. All relevant methods of inquiry are welcome. Advances in Social Work is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes original work. Articles are accepted on the basis of appropriateness, clarity, sound methodology, and utility for social work practice, research, and education. Editor: William H. Barton, Ph.D
Indexed? Many indexes listed in Ulrichs including Scopus and several Ebsco and Proquest databases
Ads on page? yes
Are any parts not freely available? no
Published by? BioMed Central Ltd., part of Springer Science + Business Media
Funding? Article-processing charges US$1700
Platform? BioMed Central
Frequency? Irregular
Year started? 2000, became open access in 2002
Description: research articles in the clinical, scientific, ethical and policy issues, local and international, regarding all aspects of hospice and palliative care for the dying and for those with profound suffering related to chronic illness.
Indexed? Many indexes listed in Ulrichs including Social Work Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, many Ebsco databases, PubMed and Scopus
Ads on page? no
Are any parts not freely available? no
Published by? Princeton University, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs
Funding? The Future of Children is a collaboration of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and the Brookings Institution.
Platform? Future of children’s website
Frequency? 2 times per year
Year started? 1991
Description: Covers child health, education, and welfare public policy issues.
International Journal of Mental Health Systems
Indexed? Several indexes listed in Ulrichs including Psycinfo.
Ads on page? yes
Are parts not freely available? no
Published by? Editor-in-Chief: I H Minas, University of Melbourne, BioMed Central Ltd., part of Springer Science + Business Media
Platform: Biomed Central Ltd.
Funding? Article-processing charges US$1535
Frequency? irregular
Year started? 2007
Description: all aspects of mental health system development and reform.
Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research, SSWR
Ads on page? no
Are parts not freely available? no
Published by? Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR)
Funding? Open Journal Systems (OJS) is a journal management and publishing system that has been developed by the Public Knowledge Project through its federally funded efforts to expand and improve access to research. OJS is open source software made freely available to journals worldwide for the purpose of making open access publishing a viable option for more journals.
Platform? Open Journal Systems
Frequency? Once accepted, manuscripts will be published as soon as they are ready. The Table of Contents will be updated as new manuscripts are added.
Year started? 2010
Description? The Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research (JSSWR) is an official publication of the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR). SSWR is a free-standing organization founded in 1994 to advance social work research. The journal was founded in 2009 to encourage the participation of social workers in research, to strengthen the rigor and cultural congruence of social work research, and to improve the dissemination of knowledge in social work and related professions and disciplines.
The mission of JSSWR is to provide a venue for the timely publication of research that advances knowledge of social problems, programs, and policies. Special emphasis is placed on publishing findings from studies of the effectiveness of social and health services, including public policies and practices. JSSWR publishes rigorous empirical research that advances knowledge useful for designing social programs, developing innovative public policies, and improving social work practice.
An open-access journal, JSSWR is produced in electronic format only that is organized to provide rapid, high-quality reviews of manuscripts. It uses an Internet-based editorial process for making publication decisions and for reducing the time between the submission and, when reviews are positive, the publication of manuscripts. The intended audience of JSSWR extends beyond the membership of SSWR to the broader population of practitioners, administrators, and policy makers whose interests include social and health problems.
Journal of Social Work Values & Ethics
Ads on page? yes
Are parts not freely available? no
Published by? White Hat Communications
Funding? Author(s) transfer ownership of the manuscript. All accepted manuscripts will be published online. The publisher may, on occasion, also publish a collection of some articles in print form. White Hat Communications sells other social work publications and merchandise. There is some minimal advertising on the journal’s webpages.
Platform? Journal’s own website
Frequency? Semi-annually according to Ulrichs
Year started? 2004
Description: Examines the ethical and values issues that impact and are interwoven with social work practice, research and theory development. JSWVE addresses ethical and value issues that encompass the full range of social problems and issues that social workers encounter. The journal provides the necessary historical perspectives on the development of social work values and ethics, as well as present articles providing value and ethical dilemmas stemming from state-of-the-art developments.
Indexed? Scopus, Social Services Abstracts
Ads on page? no
Are any parts not freely available? no
Published by? Group of Editors of Social Work & Society
Funding? DiPP was funded by the Ministry of Innovation NRW in Germany
Frequency? Three times a year
Year started? 2003
Platform? Digital Peer Publishing (DiPP) program of Germany's North Rhine-Westphalia.
Description: From the journal site: 'Social Work and Society is dedicated to critical analysis of the relationship between social work, social policy, the state and economic forces. It provides a forum in which conventional views can be challenged, theories about the status and mission of social work in society can be developed and ways for social work to act politically and responsibly can be identified. The journal aims to engage in truly international debate by including discussants from countries all over the world. In doing so, it is committed to constructing discursive relationships between research, theory, education and practice. It consists of sections for papers, research reports and book reviews, a forum section with country notes, documents and announcements, a section for critical essays, social reports and country reports and the online-forum SociaList for comments and discussion. Social Work and Society is an online-only journal that is not distributed in hard copy. Social Work and Society is an international journal using English as a standard language. Articles, papers, and reports will be primarily published in English.'
Substance Abuse Treatment, Prevention, and Policy
Indexed? Several indexes listed in Ulrichs including Medline and Scopus
Ads on page? yes
Are parts not freely available? no
Published by? Editors-in-Chief: Stephan Arndt, Iowa Consortium for Substance Abuse Research and Evaluation; Norman Hoffmann, Brown University; Janet Zwick, Iowa Department of Public Health, BioMed Central Ltd., part of Springer Science + Business Media
Platform: Biomed Central Ltd.
Funding? Article-processing charges US$1245
Frequency? monthly
Year started? 2006
Description: Aims to encompass all aspects of research concerning substance abuse, with a focus on policy issues.
Charlene Martin assisted with researching information about start dates and publishers for this page.
Content of this page was originally created by Adina Mulliken at Syracuse University and is being maintained at Hunter College.