Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access and Lower Cost

Open Access Databases - Most Include Some Full Text

Alcohol Studies Database

Peer reviewed? some
Vendor/Publisher? Center for Alcohol Studies, Rutgers University Libraries, Scholarly Communications Center
Full text? no
Formats indexed? journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials.
Description? The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences. While a growing amount of literature on other drug use/abuse has been added in recent years, this material represents only a small percentage of the database and is not indexed to the same depth as the alcohol literature. In addition to the research and professional material, the database also includes a small collection of educational and prevention materials, including audiovisuals, suitable for students and educators K-12, parents, community workers, and the general public.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Peer reviewed? some
Vendor/Publisher? Administration for Children & Families
Full text?  Some
Formats indexed?  Print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases
Description? Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely, essential information. The site provides coverage of a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and more.

 

Digital Public Library of America
Peer reviewed? no
Can you search across the content at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? various
Description: The Digital Public Library of America brings together America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

 

Directory of Open Access Books
Peer reviewed? some
Can you search across the content at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? Open Edition, Brill, Springer
Description: The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOA.

 

Directory of Open Access Repositories
Peer reviewed? some
Can you search across the content at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? Original funders were led by the international Open Society Institute (OSI - now Open Society Foundations). The UK funding body JISC (Joint Information Systems Committee - now Jisc) also backed the initial 18 month project, as part of a larger programme of funding for repository development in UK institutions. There has been additional contributory funding from the Consortium of Research Libraries (CURL, now Research Libraries UK, RLUK) and from SPARCEurope - an alliance of European research libraries, library organisations, and research institutions. Jisc now continues to fund the development and provision of the OpenDOAR service.
Description:OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

 

Directory of Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Peer reviewed?No
Can you search across the content at once? yes
Ads on page?no
All freely available?yes
Funding?unknown. Support from the Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University.
Description:OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. As of April 2015, OATD indexes 2,536,860 theses and dissertations.

 

Eric 
Peer reviewed? some
Vendor/Publisher? Education Resources Information Center
Full text? Some
Formats indexed?  journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines
Dates of coverage? 1966 to the present
Description? Useful for social work in educational settings and any topics pertaining to children. Updated monthly.

 

 

 

GoogleScholar
Peer reviewed?  some
Vendor/Publisher? Google
Full text? Some
Formats indexed?  all
Dates of coverage? unknown
Description? attempts to limit Google searches to more scholarly material.

 

NCJRS
Peer Reviewed? some
Vendor/Publisher? U.S. Department of Justice
Full text?  Some
Formats indexed?  U.S. and international research reports, published papers, books, articles, and audio-visual presentations
Dates of coverage? most date from 1960's to present
Description?  The NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) database covers all aspects of law enforcement and criminal justice including: police; courts; corrections; juvenile justice; community crime prevention; criminal justice system; fraud, waste, and abuse in government programs. Topic coverage ranges from preliminary research to detailed descriptions of successful programs.

 

PubMed
Peer Reviewed? most
Vendor/Publisher? U.S. Government
Full text?  Some
Formats indexed? books, journals, more
Dates of coverage?   back to the mid-1960's
Description?  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals.

Open Access Collections- Full Text

Bentham Open Science Journals-

Peer reviewed? yes
Can you search across the journals at once? no
Ads on page? Yes, for Bentham
All freely available? yes
Funding? Bentham Open offers affordable article -processing fees, ranking amongst the lowest as compared to those of other open access journal publishers. An article-processing fee payable by the author/ author's institution applies for every accepted article, to cover the costs incurred by open access publication. Members of Bentham Open are entitled to discounted article - processing fees.
Description: All articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.  Articles are licensed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution non-commercial License which permits unrestricted, non-commercial use, distribution and reproduction in any medium, providing that the work is properly cited. All submitted articles undergo a fast but rigorous peer-review procedure, followed by prompt submission of an article for publication.  Authors publishing with Bentham Open retain the copyright to their work.

Directory of Open Access Journals 

Peer reviewed? exercise quality control on submitted papers through an editor, editorial board and/or a peer-review system.
Can you search across the journals at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? partly funded by Lund University Libraries Head Office. 
Description: a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas. The aim of the Directory is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
Social Work related journals (selected):
As of December 2009, 25 journals are listed under the subject “Social and Public Welfare.”  The journals represent a variety of countries and languages.  Most are not listed in the individual journals section of this document.

 ‚Äč

SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network) 

Peer reviewed? Not all
Can you search across the journals at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? The Social Science Research Network is produced by Social Science Electronic Publishing Inc. (SSEP). SSEP is an independent privately held corporation. Michael C. Jensen is the Chairman of SSEP; Gregory J. Gordon is the President of SSEP.
Description: Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 800 leading scholars that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. The Networks encourage readers to communicate directly with other subscribers concerning their own and other's research. Through our email abstracting journals we currently reach over 163,000 people in approximately 70 different countries. SSRN supports the Open Access movement by providing free submissions to and downloads from the SSRN eLibrary.
Social Work related journals (selected): Journals are categorized into “networks”, which can be browsed.  Networks that are partially relevant to social work include Health Economics Network and  Social Insurance Research Network.

 

University of California eScholarship repository

Peer reviewed? Some
Can you search across the journals at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? California Digital Library
Description: eScholarship provides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services and research tools that enable departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.  Includes journals, books, working papers, conference proceedings, paper/seminar series, and previously published materials .
Social Work related journals and content (selected):

Content of this page was originally created by Adina Mulliken at Syracuse University and is being maintained at Hunter College.