Skip to main content

Hebrew Language & Literature and Jewish Studies

This guide provides resources to learn Hebrew and find scholarly information on Hebrew literature and Jewish Studies.

Hebrew Alphabet

To see the Hebrew alphabet and learn the sounds of the letters, click here.

Some resources on ways the letters can be written and pronounced (as well as their numerical equivalents) include:

In addition, some helpful writing practice, flashcards, and other practice exercises include:

To type in Hebrew, click here for instructions on adding Hebrew to your keyboard.

Resources to Learn Hebrew

Courses

  • Duolingo - Free language-learning app with a full course in Hebrew.
  • Drops - Hebrew vocabulary app (free and paid options available). 
  • HebrewPod101 - Series of Hebrew-lesson podcasts with supplementary course materials (free and paid options available).
  • FSI Basic Hebrew - Full course in Hebrew from the Foreign Service Institute, with audio and workbooks.
  • Teach Me Hebrew - Study guides, flash cards, and lessons on a variety of Hebrew topics, including grammar, vocabulary, conversation, and more.
  • Loecsen - Narrated slide shows, quizzes, and lessons.
  • Clozemaster - Vocabulary learning app where users fill the blanks in sentences by choosing one of four options. 

Dictionaries/Pronunciation Guides

  • Morfix - Israeli online dictionary, browseable and searchable for words and phrases. 
  • Forvo - Hebrew pronunciation dictionary that allows users to look up words and phrases to hear how they should be pronounced.
  • Pealim - Searchable and browseable Hebrew verb conjugations.

Videos/Podcasts

  • Hebrew Lessons - Playlist of videos with short, basic Hebrew lessons. 
  • Easy Hebrew - Playlist of videos teaching conversational Hebrew from the streets of Israel.
  • Hebrew Podcasts - Series of videos with basic and intermediate Hebrew conversations and accompanying lessons.
  • Streetwise Hebrew - Podcasts about Hebrew slang, origins and usage.
  • Teacher Mike's Blog - Series of videos and blog posts about conversational Hebrew. 
  • Word of the Day - Short playlist of 25 second videos, each teaching a single word.
  • Modern Hebrew Q&A - Playlist of videos answering user questions about Hebrew, Israeli culture, and Christianity.

Additional Resources

  • Daily Dose of Hebrew - Browse the site or subscribe to the mailing list for a new tidbit about Hebrew every day. 
  • BBC Guide to Hebrew - Collection of words, phrases, facts, and tips.
  • TuneIn - Listen to Hebrew radio stations, talk and music. 
  • TED - Listen to TED Talks in Hebrew. 
  • Class Central - MOOCs offered in Hebrew on subjects from Physics to Poetry.

Print Books in Hunter's Collection

Kittel, Bonnie Pedrotti.  Biblical Hebrew, 2nd ed., 2005.
Main Stacks PJ 4567.3 .K5 2005

Klein, Ernest.  A Comprehensive Dictionary of the Hebrew Language for Readers of English.
Reference PJ4833.K54 1987

Kutscher, Edward Yechezkel.  A History of the Hebrew Language.
Main Stacks PJ 4545 .K87 1982

Oxford English-Hebrew, Hebrew-English Dictionary.
Reference PJ 4833.O9 1995