Looking for more information about Hebrew at Hunter? Visit Hunter's Hebrew and Hebraic Studies Department site. Looking for more information about Jewish Studies at Hunter? Visit Hunter's Jewish Studies Center. For more information on research in the field, as well as e-books and other online resources from major libraries and institutions, check out some of the sites below.
For more information on Hebrew, Yiddish, and other Jewish languages:
- Jewish Language Research - Introduction to Jewish languages for the general public and major resource for the field of Jewish linguistics
To search digitized books in Hebrew or about Jewish topics:
- Dead Sea Scrolls - Ancient manuscripts of the Bible discovered between 1949 and 1956, they date from the third century BCE to the first century CE, and can be viewed online
- Bibliography of the Hebrew Book, 1470-1960 - Searchable database of books published in Hebrew, Yiddish and Ladino
- National Library of Israel's Digitized Book Repository - Digitized Jewish books from 15th century incunabula to early 20th century works
- Center for Online Judaic Studies - Large collection of primary sources, newspaper articles, artifacts, images, maps, videos, bibliographies, secondary sources and websites.
- Central Archives for the History of the Jewish People in Jerusalem - Extensive collection of documents, pinkassim (registers), and other records of Jewish history from the Middle Ages to the present day.
For more information about the Holocaust:
Local museums and institutions with Hebrew or Jewish Studies collections:
- Museum of Jewish Heritage - Online resources include virtual museum tours and curricula for learning at home, including MJH Holocaust Curriculum.
- Hebrew Union College Library - Large and diverse collection, which includes manuscripts and sheet music
- Jewish Theological Seminary Library - 400,000 circulating volumes plus collection of rare materials that includes the world’s largest collection of Hebrew manuscripts, 43,000 fragments from the Cairo Genizah, extensive archives, and more
- NYPL Dorot Jewish Division - Over 250,000 books, microforms, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and ephemera from all over the world chronicling the religious and secular history of the Jewish people
- Museum at Eldridge Street - Museum housed in one of the first American synagogues, a National Historic Landmark, providing tours, cultural events, and educational programs.
- YIVO - Institute for Jewish Research
- American Jewish Historical Society - Smithsonian-affiliated institution with extensive holdings.
- Center for Jewish History - Search or browse collections spanning five thousand years, including tens of millions of archival documents in dozens of languages and alphabet systems.
Professional organizations relating to Jewish Studies: