Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hebrew Language & Literature and Jewish Studies

This guide provides resources to learn Hebrew and find scholarly information on Hebrew literature and Jewish Studies.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Other Reference Sources

E-Books and Online Reference Books

Print Books (with call numbers)

  • Bibliography of Modern Hebrew Literature in Translation (Reference PJ 5059.B52)
  • Handbook of American-Jewish Literature (Reference PS 153.J4 H365 1988)
  • Klein, Ernest. A Comprehensive Dictionary of the Hebrew Language for Readers of English (Reference PJ 4833.K54 1987)
  • Oxford English-Hebrew, Hebrew-English Dictionary (Reference PJ 4833.O9 1995)
  • Zinberg, Israel. History of Jewish Literature (Reference PJ 5008.Z5313)
  • Veidlinger. Jewish Public Culture (DS 135.R9 V43 2009)
  • Longerich, Peter. Holocaust: The Nazi Persecution and Murder of the Jews (D 804.3 L64713 2010)
  • Wright, Robert. Evolution of God (BL 473.W75 2009)
  • Neusner, Jacob. Encyclopedia of Judaism (BM 50.E63 1999)​
  • Solomon, Norman. Historical Dictionary of Judaism (BM 50.S65 1998)
  • Jerusalem 1000-1400: Ever People Under Heaven (DS 109.15.J467 2016)
  • Kritzler, Edward. Jewish Pirates of the Caribbean (F 2191.J4 K75 2009)​
  • Neusner, Jacob, et al. Judaism and Islam in Practice (BP 173.J8 J83 2000)​
  • The New Diaspora (PS 153.J4 N49 2015)