EDPS 742: Qualitative Research Methods

Once you have saved a list of results, you are usually given options to print, email, save or export them.  The first three options are self-explanatory.  The fourth, however, may need explaining.

Bibliographic management tools - what are they?

• Tools to organize your citations while conducting research. Hunter has two: EndNote and RefWorks 
  
• Centralized locations to store and maintain all your citations from books, journal articles, etc.in your own personal database
• Citations can be directly imported from databases as well as library catalog such as CUNY+
• Each also allows for simple conversion of citations into various styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago

You can learn more about RefWorks and EndNote through their respective tutorials - find the links to the tutorials by clicking on the name of each utility.

Exporting citations
Each databse allows you to export your citations to a selection of bibliographic management tools, or to save them in a document format that is easily imported into one or more of these tools. 

Simply select the "export" link or icon in the database you are searching for the options available.

By exporting your citations into one of these tools, you are again saving yourself time down the road of having to manually type in all the bibliographic information for all your Works Cited or Bibliography citations.
Please consult the excellent tutorials and help menus for each tool for more in-depth information.

• RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to create your own personal database of references.

• Users can import references from a search performed in an online database automatically, or enter references manually.  

• RefWorks also interfaces directly with Word, making it easy to import citations and incorporate them into your writing as properly formatted footnotes or in-text citations according to the writing style of your choice (MLA, APA, and hundreds others)

RefWorks works best using the Internet Explorer Web browser. Download the RefWorks Quick Start Guide here.

Click here for RefWorks

• Endnote is an online search tool that provides a way to search online bibliographic databases and retrieve the references directly into EndNote.
• EndNote is a reference database storing, managing, and searching for bibliographic references in your private reference library. You can organize images-including charts, tables, figures, and equations, and assign each image its own caption and keywords.
• EndNote is a bibliography and manuscript maker, formatting citations, figures, and tables in MS Word.

Click here for EndNote