EDPS 742: Qualitative Research Methods

If you need a book that Hunter does not own, search CUNY+ for other CUNY schools that may have the title you need. You can borrow books from other CUNY schools through CLICS: CUNY Libraries InterCampus Service. Click this link to learn how to borrow materials using CLICS.

To get your hands on books not available within the CUNY system, use our InterLibrary Loan system, ILLiad. ILLiad can be used for books as well as journal articles.

Please read the policies carefully and follow the instructions to insure that your request is processed quickly.

What is it?

CUNY+ is the CUNY-wide Library Catalog. The Catalog is a database of the materials (books, e-books, DVDs, journal titles, etc.) that are held at each library in the CUNY system. It is the fastest, most efficient way to search for things in our Libraries.

How can I access it?

There is a link to CUNY+ on the Hunter Libraries home page. You could also just start searching in the box below.

How do I search for materials in CUNY+?

There are a number of ways to search for books and other materials in CUNY+. You can search by title, author, keywords, call number, etc. Check out the How do I? page for more tutorials and information on using CUNY+

In addition to traditional print resources, the Hunter College Libraries provide access to a large number of electronic books, or e-books. E-books can be located by conducting a search in CUNY+, the same way that print titles can be searched. E-books will show up in a search with the words "Electronic Resource" under the Format heading. In the search below, you can see that we have the book "Couture Culture: a study in modern art and fashion" in both e-book (Electronic Resource) and print (Book) formats.

Additionally, there are several databases of e-books that can be searched independently. I've listed a few below that contain materials related to theatre. All of the following databases can be located alphabetically by title in the list of databases on the Libraries website.

You can also search for e-books by going directly to one of our e-book databases. Below are a few e-book databases that may be useful for your research. All of the e-book databases can be found in the list of databases on the library's website.

If you click on any of the links below and you are  not on campus, you will be asked to log in with your Hunter email address and password. For more information about accessing electronic resources from home, click here.

ebrary

• Over 45,000 academic titles from all areas of study
• Interface allows users to underline and make notes, save titles to a personal book shelf, link out to other sources, and print up to 50 pages
• Sample titles: Ending Social Promotion Without Leaving Children Behind: The Case of New York City; Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom; Learning without School : Home Education

Gale Virtual Reference Library

• Access to more than 1000 reference titles
• Interface offers sound files (MP3) and translation into several languages
• Although the titles are not too exciting, there is a wealth of information here to get you started with your research. Think of it as your Wikipedia alternative.
• Sample titles: Encyclopedia of Education; Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia; 21st Century Education: A Reference HAndbook

Netlibrary

• 875 titles
• Interface allows only one user at a time for a title
• Sample titles:Culturally Responsive Teaching: Theory, Research, and Practice; Creative Resources for the Early Childhood Classroom; Inclusive Education: A Casebook and Readings for Prospective and Practicing Teachers

SpringerLink

• Includes access to journal articles, ebooks, reference material and more
• Subject areas include Social and Behavioral Sciences