Where's the full-text
To Find Articles:
- From any database use
to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search the List of Journals/Magazines or CUNY+ to determine whether Hunter College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need. - If a journal is available at Hunter College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a journal is unavailable at Hunter College, request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a Hunter College journal is missing, request it via ILL with note.
- Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
- Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.
Getting Started
-
Education Research CompleteTopics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Here are a few suggested databases to start your research. Please don't limit yourself to these resources though!
-
ERICERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
-
PsycINFOAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
-
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowJournal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
Choosing a database
How do you decide which database(s) are the best fit for your needs? There are many considerations:
- Subject
- Psychology, Education, Art, ...
- Type of information desired
- Scholarly articles, current news stories, statistics…
- Availability and format of full-text
- Full-text online, abstract only, PDF (page images), HTML (text only)...
- Coverage dates
- Historical documents, current events, specific years...
For a cross-disciplinary topic like globalization or anti-Americanism, you may need to search in more than one database to find what you need. Keep that in mind! There is no one, magical database that will give you everything you need.
On the library databases page, there are a few tools to help you select your resources. You can narrow the list down by Subject, by database type (full-text, index, etc.), or you can click on the orange question mark to the right of each database name to read a brief summary of the contents of a given database. See below.
For example, here is the pop-up that explains what you need to know about the database JSTOR:
The box above tells you a lot about the resource you are about to search, which is why is it wise to take a look. For instance, did you realize that in JSTOR, current journals are not entered into the database for 2-5 years? That means that if you are looking for information on a current topic, or are working in a field where things change rapidly and you need to be on the cutting edge, JSTOR will probably not be the best place for you to search. Why? Because you will be missing out on the most current 2-5 years' worth of information. If that's okay for your research needs, then go ahead and use JSTOR. Just be mindful of what you are searching at any given time.
Even after choosing a database, you can still find out just what publications you are searching by consulting a "help" menu, or an "about" link. Often times, databases will include a "publications" link as well, which will list all the journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. that you will be searching, and the dates covered by each.