Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THEA 281: Visual Elements - Research Using Online Resources

A guide to research for theatre production and design using only online resources, created Spring 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hunter College Image Databases

Click through for a list of Image Databases provided by the Hunter College Libraries. You can access any of these by logging in with your NetID/password when prompted: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/8

Below are a few highlights, from Hunter as well as free, publicly accessible online resources.

Artstor

ARTstor <click here to access the database - log in with your Net ID and password when prompted

ARTstor is a digital library of more than two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. 

ARTstor's YouTube videos

Publicly Available Online Image Resources

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collectionshttps://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) Collectionshttps://www.moma.org/collection/

New York Public Library Online Collections (a selection): 

More ways to search online for images

Creative Commons Search: https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org/

  • CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. 

Digital Public Library of America: https://dp.la/

  • Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

Europeana: https://www.europeana.eu/en

  • Portal to digital content held in Europe’s archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

Google Arts & Culturehttps://artsandculture.google.com/