It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
THEA 281: Visual Elements - Research Using Online Resources
A guide to research for theatre production and design using only online resources, created Spring 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic.
These databases include biographical information and often contain production history information as well.
If you are not finding information about a person by searching for his or her name, think a little more broadly about where he or she fits into the bigger picture: Is this person an actor, a director, a playwright, a designer? What time period? What genre?
Biographical information on over 500,000 people from antiquity to present, including full text of Current Biography. Allows you to search by name, with the option to limit by occupation, or to results that include images, among other things. Biographical results include lists of further readings for more information.
Full text biographies on approx. 220,000 people from published biographical reference works and magazines, with web links. Allows you to search by name, occupation, nationality, birth place or death place. Biographical results include lists of further readings for more information. Includes the International Dictionary of Theatre which often lists production histories.
The historical New York Times has digitally reproduced every page from every issue of The New York Times from 1851 to 2001. The full text of the paper is completely searchable; the results include all graphics and links to continuations on other pages. This is one of my favorite resources.
Full text database of newspapers and other news sources; includes broadcast transcripts and international news sources. When searching for play reviews, try the title of the play in quotation marks (i.e. "Zoo Story") and the word "review" (not in quotes).