LibGuides: THEA 281: Visual Elements: Background and Context

Background Information

Background information will give you a foundation for building your research. Use Reference Resources (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.) to explore background information about the play, the playwright, the historical context in which the play way written, and more. Think of these resources as more authoritative alternatives to Wikipedia.

You can use the "Resource Type" filter in OneSearch to find Reference Resources, or you can select a Reference database from the list below.

Here's a link to all of Hunter's Reference Resources databases: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/4

The two that I recommend for this class are:

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Oxford Art Online
A foundational resource for art and art history, you will find lots of information here about art, artists, artistic movements, visual styles, and more.
Oxford Reference

Primary Sources

These databases contain historical documents that may help contextualize your play and playwright. Find a full list of primary source databases here: http://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/13

18th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 volumes of works published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th Century.
19th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Vast archive of books, newspapers, diaries, photographs, sheet music, maps, pamphlets and more documenting the 19th Century.
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection This link opens in a new window
Early English newspapers from London, the British Isles and the colonies.