U.S. History

National Geographic Virtual Library brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research. With standard library features and functionality common to many Gale resources, National Geographic Virtual Library is a powerful tool for research through the 100+ years of quality publications.

Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.

​Create and customize thematic and interactive maps that explore all historical and modern US census data across the centuries and even down to street level detail (where available).

Navigate current and historical demographic data and survey.

Create data reports at all geographic levels, including state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and census place (where the data exist).

Export, save, and print reports for professional-looking reports, presentations, and graphics. High-resolution images are available and any presentation can be exported directly to PowerPoint.

"American Panorama is an historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive mapping techniques, designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in American history or a love of maps."

"The American Revolution Portal is a curated digital collection of maps and additional online resources related to the American Revolutionary War era, broadly defined as 1750-1800. The Portal is designed to provide wide-ranging access to primary source documents, and features a selection of the finest and most informative printed and manuscript maps from public and private collections in the United States and Great Britain. Nearly 2,000 maps are currently available in the Portal; new partners and their collections will continue to be added."

Approximately 3,000 maps from collections owned by the Library of Congress, the Virginia Historical Society, and the Library of Virginia.

This historical map collection has over 55,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Popular collection categories are antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall & case, children's, and manuscript maps. Search examples: Pictorial maps, United States maps, Geology maps, California map, Afghanistan map, America map, New York City map, Chicago map, and U.S. Civil War maps. Browse map categories: What, Where, Who, When. The collection is used to study history, art, genealogy, explorations, and family history.

Historical maps scanned by the University of Alabama.

Beautifully designed site with maps of Manhattan from the 1600s through the present.

The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.

It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.

An outstanding online resource for viewing historical maps that have been scanned by The University of Texas at Austin.

A collection of zoomable early American maps from the Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at The Boston Public Library. Four collections are spotlighted:
-Prelude to Rebellion
-Britain's North American Empire
-The War for Independence
-Mapping a New Nation