It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide focuses on resources for researching United States history from the colonial period to the present.
"The Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection consists of over 4000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, and relate directly to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana, especially in the city of New Orleans.
Approximately half of the Charles F. Heartman collection consists of municipal records from city of New Orleans. Clerical books, especially those of the Third Municipality, provide valuable information on the labor and leisure activities of slaves in the early nineteenth century. The city also had the largest concentration of Free People of Color in the nation, and encompassing tax records and business bonds reflect their economic activity. There are also rosters of Negro soldiers in the U.S. Army during the Civil War, and records of societies of Freemen dating from Reconstruction and beyond.
Currently, the Charles F. Heartman Collection is in the process of being digitally converted for long-term preservation and utilization for future researchers, students, and scholars. This continuing process extends Mother M. Agatha Ryan’s mission to not only assemble, but educate on the history of Slavery in the South, while preserving the value of cultural heritage as Charles F. Heartman deemed necessary for the future of African Americans. As this collection continues to be digitized and added online, please feel free to visit the Digital Collections website to see our progress."
"Find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials that tell the story of the Japanese American community, from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath."
Setting up an environment for digital humanities computational work can be time-consuming and difficult. DH Box addresses this problem by streamlining installation processes and providing a DH laboratory in the cloud through simple sign-in via a web browser. The DH Box platform comes pre-equipped with essential DH tools such as IPython, RStudio, Omeka, and NLTK.
"The Wisconsin Historical Society has one of the richest collections of Civil Rights movement records in the nation, which includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964.
More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts are available online. In them you will find official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more. The digital collection will continue to grow as more manuscripts are added"
"'Histography' is an interactive timeline that spans across 14 billion years of history, from the Big Bang to 2015.
The site draws historical events from Wikipedia and self-updates daily with new recorded events.
The interface allows for users to view between decades to millions of years.
The viewer can choose to watch a variety of events which have happened in a particular period or to target a specific event in time. For example you can look at the past century within the categories of war and inventions."
Working jointly with the New York City Department of Records and Information services, the La Guardia and Wagner Archives has processed, microfilmed and digitized documents from the La Guardia, Wagner, Beame and Koch Mayoral papers. The original documents are housed at the Department of Records and Information Services/Municipal Archives. This includes Documents Series such as Departmental Correspondence,General Correspondence, Subject Files, as well as materials from the Deputy Mayor’s Office. In addition, the La Guardia and Wagner Archives has digitized selected photographs from the Koch Mayoral Photograph Collection. The Archives is also collaborating with the New York City Department of Records and Information Services to digitize and preserve U-matic tapes from their Koch Video Collection.
"The Lowcountry Digital History Initiative (LDHI) is a digital public history project hosted by the Lowcountry Digital Library (LCDL) at the College of Charleston. Funded through a pilot project grant from the Humanities Council of South Carolina and a major grant award from the Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation, LDHI began development in 2013 and launched in 2014 as a digital consultation service, scholarly editorial resource, and online platform for partner institutions and collaborative scholars to translate multi-institutional archival materials, historic landscape features and structures, and scholarly research into digital public history exhibition projects."
"Missouri & the Great War is a statewide collaborative digitization project to document Missouri’s role in World War I. The project is a digital collection of historical documents, photographs, artifacts, oral histories and other primary source material from museums, archives, libraries, and private collections from across Missouri. Contributing Institutions have provided free online access to their collections for educational and research purposes.
Missouri & the Great War serves to expand scholarship, interest, and knowledge of the First World War. The project began in preparation for the war’s centennial commemoration (2014-2018). Project staff are positioned through the state to digitize materials. Currently 28 museums, libraries, and archives have contributed collections to the project."
"SNAC is demonstrating the feasibility of separating the description of persons, families, and organizations—including their socio-historical contexts—from the description of the historical resources that are the primary evidence of their lives and work. A key objective is to provide researchers with convenient, integrated access to historical collections held by multiple private and public archives and libraries around the world while also setting the stage for a cooperative program for maintaining information about the people documented in the collections."
"Historian Richard S. Dunn has been tracking the 1,103 slaves who lived at Mesopotamia plantation in Jamaica between 1762 and 1833, and the 973 slaves who lived at Mount Airy plantation in Virginia between 1808 and 1865. He has reconstructed the lineages of slave families from both plantations through four or five generations."
The Valley Project details life in two American communities, one Northern and one Southern, from the time of John Brown's Raid through the era of Reconstruction. In this digital archive you may explore thousands of original letters and diaries, newspapers and speeches, census and church records, left by men and women of Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Giving voice to hundreds of individual people, the Valley Project tells forgotten stories of life during the era of the Civil War.
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered makes it a truly remarkable resource for teaching and research, providing an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.
The WST is an online, crowdsourced database of academic genealogies within writing studies; in other words, it is an interactive archive for recording and mapping scholarly relationships in Composition and Rhetoric and adjacent disciplines.
"When you enter phrases into the Google Books Ngram Viewer, it displays a graph showing how those phrases have occurred in a corpus of books (e.g., "British English", "English Fiction", "French") over the selected years."
Voyeur is a web-based text analysis environment. It is designed to be user-friendly, flexible and powerful. Voyeur is part of the Hermeneuti.ca, a collaborative project to develop and theorize text analysis tools and text analysis rhetoric. This section of the Hermeneuti.ca web site provides information and documentation for users and developers of Voyeur.
Wordle is a toy for generating “word clouds” from text that you provide. The clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in the source text. You can tweak your clouds with different fonts, layouts, and color schemes. The images you create with Wordle are yours to use however you like. You can print them out, or save them to the Wordle gallery to share with your friends.
"American Panorama is an historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive mapping techniques, designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in American history or a love of maps."
Cleveland Historical is a free mobile app that puts Cleveland history at your fingertips. Developed by the Center for Public History + Digital Humanities at Cleveland State University, Cleveland Historical lets you explore the people, places, and moments that have shaped the city’s history. Learn about the region through layered, map-based, multimedia presentations, use social media to share your stories, and experience curated historical tours of Northeast Ohio.
LibGuide at Baruch for Geographic Information Systems (GIS). GIS is an integrated collection of software and data used to visualize and organize geographic data, conduct geographic analysis, and create maps.
Mapping Texts is a collaboration between the University of North Texas and Stanford University aimed at experimenting with new methods for finding and analyzing meaningful patterns embedded in massive collections of digital newspapers. Using a collection of 232,500 pages of historical newspapers digitized for the Chronicling America project, we have developed two interactive visualizations that allow you to explore both the quality of these digitized newspapers and the major language patterns:
Interactive Visualization: Assessing Newspaper Quality Interactive Visualization: Assessing Language Patterns
We have also produced a white paper that details the project, our experiments, and our findings.
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.
It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
Visualizing Emancipation is a map of slavery’s end during the American Civil War. It finds patterns in the collapse of southern slavery, mapping the interactions between federal policies, armies in the field, and the actions of enslaved men and women on countless farms and city blocks. It encourages scholars, students, and the public to examine the wartime end of slavery in place, allowing a rigorously geographic perspective on emancipation in the United States.