Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AFPRL 32100 Caribbean Migration and New York City

Caribbean Migration and New York City

Definitions and Explanations

Definitions & Explanations: Primary, Secondary, & Tertiary Sources

A PRIMARY SOURCE is an original object or document from a specific time or event under study. Primary sources include historical and legal documents, interviews, eyewitness accounts, results of experiments, survey data, observations, diaries, paintings, works of literature, ancient pieces of pottery unearthed in Iraq, and much more. In the natural and social sciences, primary sources are often empirical studies — research where an experiment was done or a direct observation was made.

A SECONDARY SOURCE is anything that’s written about a primary source, such as an essay about a novel, a newspaper article about AIDS research, a movie review, or subsequent thoughts on The Gettysburg Address.

A TERTIARY SOURCE is a source that collects information from primary and/or secondary sources in one place, distilling, synthesizing or otherwise summarizing that information into a broad overview. Examples of tertiary sources are encyclopedias, Wikipedia, and textbooks.

Can a single source ever be more than one?

Occasionally, depending on context. For instance, if you are writing a paper about global warming, a newspaper article that discusses new research on the topic issue is a secondary source. But if you are writing a paper about the media’s coverage of global warming, then the newspaper article is a primary source. What you are studying changes your relationship to the material. To further muddy the water, a secondary source may very well include primary source materials in the form of pictures, statistics, or quotes, and that might work for your teacher, but it might not. Likewise, to ensure accuracy, it is a good practice to track down the primary source if you can just to verify it.

Finding Sources

Finding Sources

  • Hunter College Library Catalog and Databases provides access to numerous books, journals, databases, and other resources you may find useful as your conduct your research. To learn how to search for materials using the library catalog and databases, please see our Search Basics (Skills) Guide
  • Digital Archives, Databases, and Libraries beyond Hunter can also prove useful when trying to locate primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.
  • Another effective method to find sources is to use other researchers' bibliographies.  This is NOT plagiarism. You can find bibliographies in published secondary sources like scholarly journals and books.  You can also find sources using lists of Further Readings from encyclopedias, or even Wikipedia.The following short tutorial provides a basic overview on how to effectively read citations found in published bibliographies: