Sociology/Social Science Databases (full text)
- SocINDEX with Full-Text - Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.
- Social Sciences Full Text - Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology - Full text of the 11 volume 2007 edition of the print edition with updates.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection - A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.
- Sage Journals Online - Full text of the Sage journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
Sociology/Social Science Databases (abstracts only)
- Sociological Abstracts - Index of and abstracts to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (WoS) - Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the social sciences, including nursing and geography. 1900 to present.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) - Index, with abstracts, to the journal literature supporting the caring profession - health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences - Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material including 100 languages and countries.
- Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 - Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.
Broader Databases (that include Sociology content)
- Academic Search Complete - The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book - An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.
- JSTOR - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
- Project Muse - An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
General Databases (for background/topic selection)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - The full text of hundreds of reference books.
- Nexis Uni - Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Full text articles from magazines and newspapers representing pros and con opinions on controversial topics and current events.
Related Subject Areas
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender - An archive of documents chronicling the LGBTQ experience in the 2nd half of the twentieth century. It includes newsletters, newspapers and periodicals, archives from LGBTQ rights organizations worldwide, government and medical responses to the AIDS crisis and more.
- Border and Migration Studies Online - Historical background (text, images, video) on more than 30 key worldwide border areas.
- Disability in the Modern World - 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting documents, and videos on the history of disability and disability studies, with emphasis on the disability rights movement.
- GenderWatch - Full-text periodical articles that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- LGBT Life with Full Text - Index with full text of the most important and scholarly LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as more than 150 books.
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 - An archive of documents chronicling the LGBTQ experience in the 2nd half of the twentieth century. It includes newsletters, newspapers and periodicals, archives from LGBTQ rights organizations worldwide, government and medical responses to the AIDS crisis and more.
- Women and Social Movements - Documents pertaining to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.