Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work Library "How To" Screencasts and Tutorials

"How to" Screencasts and Tutorials most relevant for All Courses

Choosing a topic as part of the research process (3 min)

 

Introduction to searching a database (5 min)

  • Related link
  • What you will learn
    • Why entering keywords instead of phrases can be important
    • Purpose of search terms that appear when you begin typing a search
    • Where to limit to peer reviewed results
    • What features are available in a result record (full text links if available, citation information, abstract)
    • How to save a result
    • Where to find the "cite" shortcut

 

Introduction to Keywords versus Natural Language (3 min)

 

How to find full text (5 min)

  • What you will learn
    • Why the database you first search may not have full text of all the results
    • How to check if the Library subscribes to full text through another vendor using the "FindIt@CUNY" button
    • How to use interlibrary loan if the Hunter Library does not have full text
    • How to search for full text of dissertations
    • If you have a disability that affects using the Internet, you may email Adina Mulliken references for assistance retrieving full text

 

Databases for Social Work Research Articles (9 min)

  • Related info
    • Full text is available through all these database, even when the database name includes "Abstracts"
  • What you will learn
    • How to get to List of Databases for Social Work Research Articles from Hunter Library homepage.  Skip to second 1:38 to skip this.
    • Three databases recommended most often for clinical and macro or policy topics
    • Difference between vendor and database
    • Which general subjects have additional useful databases 
    • Why searching multiple databases is necessary for a thorough search
       

Introduction to Subject Headings

  • What you will learn
    • What are subject headings and how can they help you get search results that are more relevant to your topic
    • How to use drop down menus next to search boxes to search with subject headings
  • Error in video
    • There's a mistake in this video at second 2:02.  I said "I'm interested in making my topic a little more specific."  I meant to say, "I'm interested in making my search a little more specific."  I was searching for the same topic but changing the search to make the results more specific.