Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film & Media

Finding and Using Databases of A/V Materials

Audio, Video, and Images

  • Guide to OER and openly licensed images, video, and audio
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.
  • Europeana - Portal to digital content held in Europe’s archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.
  • Music & Performing Arts - All of the music, dance, theater and film products from Alexander Street searchable on one platform.
  • Opposing Viewpoints - current events database with extensive audio, video, and image holdings

Images

  • Artstor - Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.
  • Image Kiosk - Digital collection of images and descriptions representing visual culture from prehistoric times to the present.
  • For openly licensed images, try the CC Search portal
  • Hunter College guide to art resources 
  • Full list of image databases offered through the Hunter Libraries

Audio

Video

  • Filmmakers Library - Documentaries from such producers as Filmakers Library, First Run Pictures, BBS and Zeitgeist. Subjects range across the curriculum.
  • Kanopy Streaming - Streaming video of Kanopy films which have been licensed for curricular support. Faculty requesting that films be added to Kanopy must use their Hunter email and list the relevant course(s). Licenses are annual so content may vary depending on the subscription period. *If you are having trouble streaming Kanopy films in Google Chrome, please use another browser (Firefox, Safari, Edge, Internet Explorer)
  • Full list of video databases offered through the Hunter Libraries

Finding A/V Materials in OneSearch

From the library main page, select advanced search:

Then choose Audio Visual or Images from the dropdown menu under Resource Type and enter your search terms: