Education Databases
Recommended Databases:
- ERIC EducationIndexes and abstracts journal articles and reports in the broad field of education. The best resource to use for locating articles on environmental education, outdoor education, wilderness education, and experiential education/learning. Coverage: 1966-present.
- APA PsychINFOIndexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Has links to the full text of PsychArticles.
- Education in Video I and IIStreaming videos developed for training teachers.
- Education SourceMore than 1,700 full-text journals with coverage back to 1929, focusing on children, infancy through college.
Vendor: Ebsco
Additional Databases:
- ProQuest Social Science Premium CollectionThe parent collection that contains all social sciences content available through ProQuest. It covers anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
- PAIS International & Archive This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences. Coverage from 1915-present.
- SocINDEXComprehensive sociological research database. Includes citations, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.
- Education Statistics Annual ReportsData from several National Center for Education Statistics sources; includes The Condition of Education and The Digest of Education Statistics.
- NYC Department of Education InfoHubThe New York City Department of Education makes available a variety of data about NYC schools and students, including test results, graduation results, demographic information, enrollment and attendence rates, New York State Report Cards, and School Quality Reports.
- NYC Public Schools Data, NYSEDData sets on individual schools and districts in New York, including New York City
- StatistaData aggregator providing over 1million statistics from over 18,000 sources.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- Open DoorsOpen Doors, supported by a grant from the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of State, is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities.
Finding Full Text Articles
Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.
Limiting to full text will provide results like this:
Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.
Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:
If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).