Find out if researchers have done studies about effects of current policies on your topic?
Find out if researchers have done pilot projects on proposed policy changes?
Journal articles will not give you the most current information. It can take over a year for journal articles to be published. Search Google for reliable open access and news sources for more current information.
Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
A collection of databases in the social sciences, including Social Services Abstracts, PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.
Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
PAIS International and Archive
Covers public and social policy literature.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Google Scholar is an open source search tool that spans across many disciplines and sources: it is often a very good resource for finding materials that may not appear in subscription library databases such as reports from professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, research institutes and think tanks, and other scholarly organizations.
Databases allow you to search many journals at once. Here, you can search journals one by one. This may be useful if you have already found out that a particular journal publishes a lot on your topic, or if you know there is a special issue on your topic. You may access all these e-journals and more through the Hunter College Libraries website, and open the Journals tab