Nursing 704: Healthcare Systems and Policy

Datasets, Descriptive Statistics, and Demographics - Research guide dealing exclusively with where and how to locate and use different types of data. Start here.

Census and Other Demographic Information

• Gateway to Global Aging - Population survey data on aging around the world.
• GSS Data Explorer - Data collected by the General Social Survey to look at societal change over time.
• Infoshare - Data on population, immigration, socio-economic indicators, births and deaths and more from the 1980-2000 census, and from other federal, state, and local agencies. 
• Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) - Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
• NYC Data - Baruch's compendium of data about NYC.
• NYC Population FactFinder - Allows users to define study areas within NYC and examine detailed population profiles showing critical demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics, and how these statistics have changed over time.
• Social Explorer - Demographic information about the United States from 1790-2000 through interactive maps and data reports.
• Statistical Abstract of the United States (Census Bureau) - Annual federal collection of data on social and economic conditions in the US.
• Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) - ProQuest’s version of the digitized federal collection of data on social and economic conditions in the U.S., current year and historical.
• Statistical Insight (ProQuest) - ProQuest’s version of the digitized federal collection of data on social and economic conditions in the U.S.
• US Census Bureau - US Census data, both searchable and in visual format.
• UVA Demographics Research Group - University of Virginia's breakdowns and visualizations of Census data.

Polling Data

• Gallup (2007-present) - Gallup data.
• Gallup Brain - The definitive, searchable database of the thousands of Gallup Polls conducted from 1935 to today. Search questions, results, specific surveys, and associated articles.
• Polling the Nation - More than 14,000 surveys (1986-present) including data and information related to polling.
• Roper iPoll - Repository of public opinion data.

Crime, Health, and Other Data

• Bureau of Justice Statistics - Federal crime statistics.
• Data and Statistics about the US - Includes maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
• Data.gov - US government open data on a wide variety of subjects.
• Google Dataset Search - Search tool to find datasets hosted across multiple platforms.
• ICPSR - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains an archive of social science data available in a collection of machine readable data files.
• NYC Open Data - A collection of data sets generated by New York City agencies and updated regularly.
• re3data - Registry of research data repositories.
• Statista - Data aggregator providing over 1million statistics from over 18,000 sources.
• World Health Organization Statistical Information System / WHOSIS - Guide to WHO’s health related information including health-related statistics.
• World Bank Open Data - Free and open access to global development data.