Finding scholarly articles: Databases
The following databases will help you locate journal articles on specific topics within nursing and allied health fields.
- CINAHL CompleteA nursing-specific database indexing articles from almost 3,000 journals in nursing and allied health fields.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Database of information on behavioral measurement instruments.
- Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
- HealthSource: Nursing/Academic EditionDatabase of almost 550 full-text scholarly medical journals. Also includes the AHFS Consumer Medication Information drug patient information sheets.
- LWW Nursing and Health Prof. PremierSearch within the nursing and allied health journals from publisher Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Full Text and “Find it at CUNY”
Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.
Limiting to full text will provide results like this:
Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.
Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:
If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).