Help
Ask-A-Librarian
Get research and reference help 24 hours/7 days a week.
Chat with us
Email us
Call us (212)772-4187
Visit us
Schedule a research consultation
Go to the Ask-A-Librarian page for more information.
Librarian
Where's the full-text
To Find Articles:
- From any database use
to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search the Journal Title List or CUNY+ to determine whether Hunter College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need. - If a journal is available at Hunter College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a journal is unavailable at Hunter College, request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a Hunter College journal is missing, request it via ILL with note.
- Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
- Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.
Databases
These databases are recommended for research in International Relations. If there is anything missing from this list, please leave a comment below.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowHuge multi-disciplinary database with articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. This is a great database to start your research.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields including international relations, law, public administration and policy, from 1975 to present.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAnother database with good coverage across many disciplines.
- Political Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes hundreds of journals with focus on political science and international relations. Also includes doctoral dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text of scholarly journal articles. NOTE: Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
Using Google Scholar
You can access Google Scholar at scholar.google.com. If you're not finding what you want, try Advanced Search (click the small down arrow in the right-hand side of the search box).
While Google Scholar doesn't replace our own library databases, Google Scholar is helpful -- particularly for tracking down partial citations or to see how often (or where) a given article has been cited.
Link Google Scholar to the Hunter Library for all of your home devices. This will enable you to see full text of all articles for which Hunter has a subscription. Instructions