Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Social Welfare Policy

Finding National Law of Countries around the World

GlobaLex

From NYU Law Library.

"This guide describes basic strategies for finding the laws of countries other than the U.S, primarily in English.  The emphasis is on codes and laws rather than cases.  The guide will also help you find secondary materials that describe other countries' laws.   It includes links to websites and to other guides. 

CAUTION:  Although the internet is an increasingly important source of foreign law, it is sometimes impossible to find current foreign law on a topic, particularly in translation.  Very few foreign laws, and even fewer cases, are translated into English.

If you are unfamiliar with your target country’s legal system, you should find out what type of legal system it has.  

Law and Government by Country

This extensive site from HG Law.org includes links to legal information by country.  It also advertises lawyers by country.

 

World Constitutions Illustrated in HeinOnline Government, Politics and Law Collection. This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for all countries. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Factbook, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references. 

International Law

Some international law, international treaties, etc. can be searched through HeinOnline Government, Politics and Law Collection
Also includes U. S. statutory material, U.S Congressional documents, scholarly journals, constitutions and treatises.

International Law is promulgated by international bodies including:

United Nations (UN):

World Trade Organization (WTO)

International Labor Organization (ILO)

African Union

European Union