Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections

What are Archives?

In general, archives are places that store, protect and provide access to unique records of government and corporate bodies and the papers of individuals and families. These are primary sources

Some examples of materials found in archives include, but are not limited to:

  • financial records
  • naturalization papers
  • maps
  • letters
  • diaries
  • manuscripts
  • photographs
  • other forms of artifacts, recordings and documents that have a unique cultural historical or law-related value

Primary Source Documents

Primary source documents are original documents that provide the first form or appearance of new information. These original documents provide unique insight into the past.

You can use the primary sources found in the archives as reference sources for papers and projects as well as for learning more about people, subjects, events, and ideas you're interested in.

Citing Archival Materials

Archival materials such as annual reports, minutes, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, professional papers, diaries, etc. are unique items that often require complex citations. When citing archival materials researchers should include:

  • Author or creator's name
  • Title of the work(s)
  • Date
  • Publication information
  • Collection name
  • Filing unit (Box, Folder)
  • Repostiory
  • Location

Sample Citations

Report

Annual Report, May 1908, Archives of the Alumni Association of Hunter College, 1872-2008, Box 3, Folder 1, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

Publication

[Author]. [Title of article]. The Alumnae News, April 1895, Archives of the Alumni Association  of Hunter College, 1872-2008, Box 29, Folder 1, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

Photograph

English Class, 1910, Lenox Hill Neighborhood House Collection, 1892-1994, Box 117, Folder 2, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

Correspondence

Shuster, George N. Letter to Mayor Fiorello H. LaGuardia, October 2, 1940, President George N. Shuster Collection, 1939-1960, Box 5, Folder 10, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

Presentation

Shuster, George N. Address presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Philosophical Society held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on November 13-14, 1952, President George N. Shuster Collection, 1939-1960, Box 26, Folder 4, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

Shuster, George. "On Catholic Education" presented at the Symposium on the Catholic Contribution to American Intellectual Life sponsored by the Thomas More Association and the Department of Library Science, Rosary College on June 14-15, 1958, George N. Shuster Collection, 1939-1960,  Box 26, Folder 11, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.