Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

Some basic research tools....

Artist sites & catalogues raisonnés

International Foundation for Art Research --- – scholarly compilations of an artist's body of work – are critical tools for researching the provenance, attribution and authenticity of a work of art.   Click on this link to search for catalogues raisonnés.

Wildenstein Institute Publications  for "more than 50 titles on a wide range of French artists, with a strong focus on 18th and 19th-century art"

Below are some online catalogues raisonnés:

Arshile Gorky Catalogue Raisonné

Cranach Digital Archive

Duchamp Research Portal

Egon Schiele: the complete works online

Gauguin: Catalogue Raisonné of the Paintings, 1891–1903

Georgia O'Keeffe Collections Online

Jan Brueghel, Complete Catalog

Max Beckmann Catalogue Raisonné der Gemälde

Paintings of Paul Cezanne

Rembrandt Database

Sam Francis Online Catalogue

Théodore Géricault

Tom Wesselman Digital Corpus

Van Gogh Worldwide

 

Discipline, Genres, Medium, Technique

Architecture

SAH Archipedia (US architecture by state)

Architizer

Association of Architecture School Librarians Core Reference List  

International Architecture Database

Marcel Breuer Digital Archive

New York City Landmarks

US Modernist Library

WikiArquitectura

Art Historians & Curators

Art History Teaching Resources

Dictionary of Art Historians

Ways of Curating : Hans Ulrich Obrist

Color Theory

colorsystem

Decorative arts, Design, Material Culture

Design is History

1stdibs

Fonts.com

Letterform Online Archive

West 86th

Digital Art & Internet Art

Net Art Anthology

Saving Internet Art

Drawings & Graphics

British Cartoon Archive

Graphics Atlas

Master Drawings

Fashion

Fashion History Timeline (FIT)

Folk and Outsider Art

Americana Insights

Folk Art Society of America

Outsider Art resources

Landscape Design

Cultural Landscape Foundation

Manuscripts

Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies

Museum Studies

American Alliance of Museums

Center for the Future of Museums

New Media and Internet Art

Rhizome

Performance Art

BMW Tate Live 

Photography

American Museum of Photography

Aperture

Atlas of Analytical Signatures of
Photographic Processes

Eastman Museum

Photographic Processes Series   

International Center of Photography

On This Date in Photography

photo-eye blog

William Henry Fox Talbot

Portraits, American

National Portrait Gallery

Sculpture

French Sculpture Census

International Sculpture Center

Sculptor.org

Sound Art

Audio Arts

Watercolors

American Watercolors

Tapestry

Studies in Western Tapestry