Help
Ask-A-Librarian
Get research and reference help 24 hours/7 days a week.
Chat with us
Email us
Call us (212)772-4187
Visit us
Schedule a research consultation
Go to the Ask-A-Librarian page for more information.
Librarian
Background research
Sometimes, the best place to start is with some background reading.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis is a good starting point for your research. Covers controversial contemporary issues, with articles from a variety of sources and perspectives. With pros and cons arguments clearly displayed.
General interest databases
If you're not sure where you want to start -- or you want a broad overview, try one of these databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowHuge multi-disciplinary database with articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. This is a great database to start your research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text of scholarly journal articles. NOTE: Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowJournal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
- Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1929-1983Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.
Where's the full-text
To Find Articles:
- From any database use
to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search the Journal Title List or CUNY+ to determine whether Hunter College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need. - If a journal is available at Hunter College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a journal is unavailable at Hunter College, request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a Hunter College journal is missing, request it via ILL with note.
- Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
- Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.