Where's the full-text
To Find Articles:
- From any database use
to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search the Journal Title List or CUNY+ to determine whether Hunter College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need. - If a journal is available at Hunter College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a journal is unavailable at Hunter College, request article via Interlibrary loan
- If a Hunter College journal is missing, request it via ILL with note.
- Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
- Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowHuge multi-disciplinary database with articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. This is a great database to start your research.
This is a list of the most popular databases for political science topics. If there is anything missing from this list, please leave a comment below.
- CQ Electronic LibraryCQ Researcher has reports on various topics in the news and before Congress. This is a good place to find background information. Also, it's helpful for finding paper topics.
- Web of ScienceEnormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis is a good starting point for your research. Covers controversial contemporary issues, with articles from a variety of sources and perspectives. With pros and cons arguments clearly displayed.
- PAISIndex to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences.
- Proquest CongressionalComplete and thorough access to the full text of more than 25 years of Congressional working papers and legislation. Click on “How Do I?” for information about searching and a guide to citing documents.
- Polling the nation This link opens in a new windowThis database is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the U.S. and worldwide, from 1986 on.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields including international relations, law, public administration and policy, from 1975 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text of scholarly journal articles. NOTE: Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
- Gallup BrainThe definitive, searchable database of the thousands of Gallup Polls conducted from 1935 to today. Search questions, results, specific surveys, and associated articles.
- ICPSRThe Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- Alt-Press WatchFull-text of alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and newsletters, beginning 1995.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs OnlineFull-text source for theory and research in international affairs from Columbia University Press.